filter
Back

Can I continue shipping products if I am being sued for patent infringement? A summary of the Court’s considerations

2021-11-29

Can I continue shipping products if I am being sued for patent infringement? A summary of the Court’s considerations

Introduction

In Illumina Cambridge ltd v MGI Tech Co., Ltd and Others [2021] HKCFI 3264, the Plaintiff claimed against the Defendants on the ground that the Defendants’ products and services (the “Products and Services”) infringed the Plaintiff’s Hong Kong patent (the “Patent”). The Court of First Instance rejected the Plaintiff’s application to disallow the Defendants from continuing with the transhipment of the Products and Services to their overseas customers (“Overseas Customers”) pending trial and seek disclosure of the customers and suppliers of the Defendants.

 

Facts

The Plaintiff and the Defendants (who are members of the BGI Group) are the major players in the genetics sequencing industry. The Products and Services are manufactured by the BGI Group in mainland China, the majority of which are sold and supplied to the Overseas Customers through the Hong Kong airport. The Defendants had been engaging in these transhipment activities (the “Transhipment Activities”) for at least 2 to 3 years prior to the Plaintiff’s application and subsequent approval for the Patent.

The Plaintiff applied to the court for interlocutory reliefs, including an interlocutory injunction against the Defendants pending trial of the action. The Defendants were ordered by the court to give various interim undertakings in relation to the Products and Services as set out below:

  1. the Defendants may sell or supply the Products and Services to their existing Hong Kong customers for the purpose of replacement or (with the Plaintiff’s consent or the court’s approval) increasing capacity up to certain limits;
  2. the Defendants may sell or supply the Products and Services to the Overseas Customers for use outside Hong Kong, provided that such unit(s) is to be imported for this purpose, and they would only do so for transit and remain sealed in their containers; and
  3. the Defendants would procure the maintenance of full and proper existing records in relation to the dealings in or with the Products and Services, and the keeping of such records for such future dealings.

Notably, the Plaintiff has successfully claimed against some of the corporate entities within the BGI Group for infringement of the European patent (the “European Patent”) of the Patent in various jurisdictions. Nevertheless, the validity of the European Patent is also under challenge before the European Patent Office at the moment.

 


Application of the Plaintiff

In the present proceedings, the Plaintiff applied to the court for, among others, the following:

  1. tightening the restriction in the Undertakings to the effect that the Defendants are not allowed to sell and supply the Products and Services to the Overseas Customers by transit via Hong Kong; and
  2. a disclosure order under which the Defendants would be required to disclose the names and addresses of their customers and suppliers of the Products and Services which have been supplied in or through Hong Kong.

 

Transhipment arrangement

The main issue is whether the Defendants should be allowed to continue with the Transhipment Activities in relation to the Products and Services pending trial. It is agreed by the parties that there are serious issues to be tried in respect of the Plaintiff’s claim, and given the complexity of this case, the parties should not go into the merits of the parties’ arguments on patent infringement at this stage.

The Plaintiff argued that it will suffer irreparable harm if the Defendants are allowed to carry on with the Transhipment Activities, including the following:

  1. damages would be insufficient to compensate the Plaintiff for the loss of sales to its overseas customers and reputational loss in the event that the Plaintiff’s claim succeeds;
  2. the sale and supply of the Products and Services by the Defendants pending trial would lead to irreversible price erosion on the Plaintiff’s products, and the Plaintiff will face the risks of damaging customer relationship and goodwill if it seeks to restore the price of its products to the current level;
  3. the Plaintiff’s customers would lose confidence and trust in the Plaintiff for failure to prevent the Defendants from selling or supplying the Products and Services; and
  4. the Transhipment Activities will bolster the Defendants’ portfolio as it suggests to the Defendants’ customers that the Defendants have networks and service centres in Hong Kong. 

On the other hand, the Defendants argue that they will fall victim to irreparable damage if they are not allowed to carry on with the Transhipment Activities, including:

  1. some of the customer contracts between the Defendants and their customers explicitly require the Products to be shipped by transit via Hong Kong;
  2. the prohibition of the Transhipment Activities would seriously disrupt the logistic arrangements of the shipment of the Products and Services to the Overseas Customers, especially given that this logistic arrangement has become the most important route for the Defendants’ business; and
  3. the Defendants would suffer irreparable loss of sales, customers and reputation if the Transhipment Activities are prohibited pending trial. 

Upon hearing both sides’ submissions, the court has come to the conclusion that the risk of damage to either party is comparable, and the court should maintain the status quo as it existed prior to the commencement of the proceedings. After all, since both parties face difficulties in quantifying their potential loses, the loss of revenue should be treated as a neutral factor. In addition, the court took into consideration the fact that the Patent was registered only in August 2020 and the Transhipment Activities had been ongoing even prior to the Plaintiff’s application for the Patent, which renders it unfair to the Defendants to prohibit the Transhipment Activities pending trial.

The court also found the Plaintiff’s concern about loss of customers’ confidence to be unnecessary, as the court has already imposed necessary measures to restrain the Defendants from expanding their business in and through Hong Kong pending trial. For instance, the Defendants already undertook to sell or supply the Products and Services to their existing Hong Kong customers only for the purpose of replacement and it would need the approval from the court to expand the scale of the Transhipment Activities.


 

Disclosure of the Defendants’ suppliers and customers

The Plaintiff also applied for a disclosure order to compel the Defendants to disclose the names and addresses of their customers and suppliers of the Products and Services which have been supplied in or through Hong Kong. The Plaintiff sought to justify the disclosure order on the basis that, among others, the disclosure would enable the Plaintiff to put the Defendants’ customers on notice about their potential patent infringement, and that the Plaintiff would claim against the Defendants’ customers who are aware of the patent infringement but nevertheless resell or transfer the Products and Services.


At the outset, the court reiterated the importance of exercising caution in making a disclosure order. In particular, the court is of the view that the identity of the Defendants’ customers would be unhelpful to establish the Plaintiff’s case on liability and thus irrelevant, and would only become relevant in assessing damages should the Plaintiff succeeds. Further, given that the parties are the major participants and competitors in the genetics sequencing industry, the the parties are the major participants and competitors in the genetics sequencing industry, the Defendants have a legitimate concern that upon disclosure, the Plaintiff would use the information in a way prejudicial to their business even if the Plaintiff’s claim is ultimately rejected.


Lastly, disclosure is not necessary to put the Defendants’ customers on notice of the patent proceedings, as the Defendants are willing to undertake to notify their customers of the existing legal proceedings. As such, the court rejected the Plaintiff’s application for disclosure.

 

Conclusion

In deciding whether to grant interim measures in a patent infringement case, the court would consider the potential losses that would be caused to the respective parties. In so doing, the court is essentially carrying out a balancing exercise in relation to the parties’ interests. Where the risk of damage and loss to both parties appears to be comparable and it is difficult to quantify the respective losses, the court would be inclined to maintain the status quo as it existed prior to the commencement of the proceedings.

 


 


For enquiries, please feel free to contact us at:

E: ip@onc.hk                                                                        T: (852) 2810 1212
W:
www.onc.hk                                                                    F: (852) 2804 6311

19th Floor, Three Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong

Important: The law and procedure on this subject are very specialised and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.

Published by ONC Lawyers © 2021

Our People

Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Lawrence Yeung
Lawrence Yeung
Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Lawrence Yeung
Lawrence Yeung
Partner

Latest Publications

Do I infringe others’ copyright by using stream-ripping or file sharing websites?
In the recent cases of Young Turks Recordings Ltd & Ors v British Telecommunications plc & Others [2021] EWHC 410 (Ch) and Capitol Records & Ors v British Telecommunications plc & Others [2021] EWHC 409 (Ch), the UK High Court found that the operators and users of a major stream ripping website and various main cyberlocker (i.e. file hosting/sharing websites) websites have infringed the copyright of musical records owned by the claimant record companies. These two cases are the first cases where the UK court has granted orders requiring internet access providers to block access to the stream ripping and cyberlocker websites pursuant to section 97A of the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988.
Are AI produced works protectable under Copyright Law?
In recent years, artificial intelligence or robots have been creating contents on their own. The famous Edmond de Belamy, which was sold for an unexpectedly high price of US$432,500 at auction, was an artwork created using artificial intelligence. Shimon, the singer-songwriter robot empowered by artificial intelligence which sings and writes its own lyrics and composes its own melodies, is about to go on tour to promote its first album. With an increasing amount of funds being invested in such technologies and the potential commercial benefits behind, crucial issues arise and have to be dealt with – can AI-generated contents be considered as copyrighted works? And if so – who should be the owner of the copyright?
Under what circumstances will selling genuine goods be treated as trade mark infringement?
In Mary Kay Inc & Ors v 浙江天猫网络有限公司 (Zhejiang Tmall Network Co Ltd) & Ors [2021] HKCFI 1403, the defendants sourced genuine goods from the plaintiffs and sold such goods to third parties. However, the defendants removed the production codes on the packaging before selling the goods. The Court of First Instance held that the defendants were not liable for trade mark infringement. This article explains the reason for the finding above and discusses the relevant intellectual property issues raised in this case.
Back to top

過濾器
上一頁

被控侵犯專利仍可繼續付運產品嗎?概述法院考慮的因素

2021-11-29

被控侵犯專利仍可繼續付運產品嗎?概述法院考慮的因素


簡介

Illumina Cambridge Ltd v MGI Tech Co., Ltd and Others [2021] HKCFI 3264一案中,原告人控告被告人的產品及服務侵犯原告人在香港的專利(「該專利」),並申請於等候審訊期間禁止被告人繼續將其產品及服務轉運至其海外客戶(「海外客戶」),及要求披露被告人的客戶及供應商資料,但上述申請被原訟法庭駁回。


案情

原告人及被告人均為基因排序業界的主要企業。被告人是BGI集團的成員,其產品及服務由BGI集團在中國內地製造,大部分經香港機場銷售及供應予海外客戶。在原告人申請並取得該專利前,被告人已從事上述轉運活動(「轉運活動」)至少兩、三年。

原告人向法院申請非正審濟助,包括於等候審訊期間對被告人發出非正審禁制令。被告人被命令就其產品及服務作出以下臨時承諾:

  1. 被告人可為了替換或(經原告人同意或法院批准)增加產能至若干限度的目的,而向其現有香港客戶出售或供應其產品及服務;
  2. 被告人可向海外客戶出售或供應其產品及服務,以供在香港境外使用,但有關產品須為此目的而進口,並且僅為了轉運而進口及保持密封在其容器內;及
  3. 被告人會安排就其產品及服務的交易備存完整而妥善的現有紀錄,並為未來的交易保存該等紀錄。

值得注意的是,原告人曾於多個司法管轄區成功控告BGI集團旗下的部分公司侵犯該專利在歐洲的專利(「歐洲專利」)。然而,歐洲專利的有效性目前亦在歐洲專利局受到質疑。


原告人的申請

在本案中,原告人向法院提出的申請如下(其中包括):

  1. 收緊上述臨時承諾的限制,禁止被告人經香港轉運其產品及服務出售及供應予海外客戶;及
  2. 發出披露令,要求被告人披露在或經香港獲提供其產品及務的客戶及供應商的名稱及地址。


轉運安排

本案的主要爭論點是被告人應否獲准於等候審訊期間繼續其產品及服務的轉運活動雙方同意本案有須予認真處理的問題須作審訊,而考慮到本案的複雜性,雙方不應在此階段討論雙方對於專利侵權問題的理據。

原告人認為,假如准許被告人繼續進行轉運活動,原告人將蒙受無可彌補的傷害,包括:

  1. 假如原告人勝訴,損害賠償將不足以彌補原告人的海外銷售損失及聲譽損失;
  2. 若被告人於等候審訊期間銷售及供應其產品及服務,將導致原告人產品的價格被不可逆轉地蠶食,而假如原告人嘗試回復其產品價格至現有水平,將有可能破壞其與客戶的關係及商譽;
  3. 原告人的客戶將由於原告人未能阻止被告人出售或供應被告人的產品及服務,而對原告人失去信心及信任;及
  4. 轉運活動將提升被告人的履歷,因為相當於向被告人的客戶暗示,被告人在香港擁有網絡及服務中心。

另一方面,被告人爭辯指,假如他們不獲准繼續進行轉運活動,他們亦會蒙受無可彌補的損害,原因包括:

  1. 被告人與其客戶的部分合約明文規定,產品必須經香港轉運;
  2. 如被禁止轉運活動,將嚴重擾亂運送產品及服務予海外客戶的物流安排,特別是此物流安排已成為被告人業務中最重要的路線;及
  3. 如於等候審訊期間禁止轉運活動,被告人將蒙受無可彌補的合約、客戶及聲譽損失。

在聽取雙方陳詞後,法院認為雙方蒙受損失的風險相若,因此法院應維持在本案展開前的原狀。畢竟,由於雙方均難以量化各自的潛在損失,因此收入損失應被視為中性因素。此外,法院考慮到該專利於20208月才註冊,但被告人早在原告人申請該專利之前已進行轉運活動,因此於等候審訊期間禁止轉運活動對被告人並不公平。

法院亦認為,原告人不必擔心客戶失去信心,因為法院已施加所需的措施,限制被告人於等候審訊期間在或經香港擴展業務。例如,被告人已承諾只可為了替換目的而向其現有香港客戶出售或供應其產品及服務,並且須獲法院批准才可擴大轉運活動的規模。


披露被告人的供應商及客戶資料

原告人亦申請披露令,要求被告人披露獲其在或經香港供應產品及服務的客戶及供應商的名稱及地址。原告人嘗試證明披露令具充分理據,理由包括:披露上述資料後,原告人便能令被告人的客戶知悉他們可能侵犯了專利,而被告人的客戶若知道侵犯專利但仍轉售或轉讓產品及服務,原告人亦將向他們索償。

法院首先重申,在決定是否發出披露令前,必須經謹慎考慮。其中,法院認為被告人客戶的身分對於證明原告人就法律責任提出的案情而言並無幫助及無關重要,僅在原告人勝訴的情況下在評定損害賠償時才相關。此外,由於雙方是基因排序業界的主要企業及競爭對手,被告人擔心其客戶及供應商資料一旦披露,即使原告人最終敗訴,原告人也會使用該等資料作損害被告人業務的用途,這種憂慮是合理的。

最後,即使要令被告人的客戶知悉專利訴訟,也沒有必要披露上述資料,因為被告人願意承諾通知其客戶本案的存在。故此,法院拒絕原告人的資料披露申請。


總結

在決定是否就專利侵權案件授予臨時濟助措施時,法院會考慮措施對各方可能造成的潛在損失這基本上是法院權衡雙方利益的過程。如果雙方蒙受損害及損失的風險看來相若,亦難以量化各自的損失,法院會傾向維持在法律程序展開之前的原狀。


如有查詢,歡迎與我們聯絡:

E: ip@onc.hk                                                                        T: (852) 2810 1212
W:
www.onc.hk                                                                    F: (852) 2804 6311

香港中環康樂廣場8號交易廣場第三期19

注意:以上內容涉及十分專門和複雜的法律知識法律程序。本篇文章僅是對有關題目的一般概述,只供參考,不能構成任何個別案的法律意見。如需進一步的法律諮詢或協助,請聯絡我們的律師。

ONC柯伍陳律師事務所發行 © 2021





律師團隊

伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
楊先恒
楊先恒
合夥人
伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
楊先恒
楊先恒
合夥人

最新文章

使用串流擷取或檔案共享網站,會否構成侵犯他人版權?
近期在Young Turks Recordings Ltd & Ors v British Telecommunications plc & Others [2021] EWHC 410 (Ch)及Capitol Records & Ors v British Telecommunications plc & Others [2021] EWHC 409 (Ch)兩宗案例中,英國高等法院裁定,一個大型串流擷取(stream ripping)網站及多個主要網絡貯存平台(cyberlocker,即檔案寄存/共享網站)的營運商及用戶侵犯了索償人唱片公司擁有的音樂錄音版權。在這兩宗案件中,英國法院首次引用《1988年版權、外觀設計及專利法》第97A條,頒令要求網絡服務供應商封鎖涉案的串流擷取網站及網絡貯存平台。
人工智能產生的作品受版權法保護嗎?
近年,人工智能或機械人已開始自行創作內容。例如《Edmond de Belamy》這幅使用人工智能創作的名畫,在拍賣會上以出乎意料的432,500 美元高價售出。能包辦曲詞創作及演唱的人工智能唱作機械人Shimon,也正準備為宣傳其首張專輯作巡迴演出。隨著人工智能技術的投資金額日益增加以及考慮到背後的潛在商業利益,我們必須處理以下關鍵問題:人工智能產生的內容是否可被視為受版權保護的作品?如是,誰是版權擁有人?
在甚麼情況下銷售正牌貨品會被視為侵犯商標?
在Mary Kay Inc & Ors v 浙江天猫网络有限公司 (Zhejiang Tmall Network Co Ltd) & Ors [2021] HKCFI 1403一案中,被告人向原告人採購正牌貨品,並將該等貨品出售予第三方。然而,被告人在出售貨品前移除了包裝上的生產編號。香港原訟法庭裁定,被告人並無侵犯商標。本文將解釋了上述裁決的原因,並探討與本案有關的知識產權問題。
Back to top