filter
Back

The continuous duty and importance of disclosure of conflict of interest

2021-11-29

The continuous duty and importance of disclosure of conflict of interest


Introduction

In the case of香港特別行政區  劉文建 [2021] HKCFI 3078, the Court of First Instance (the “Court”) considered an appeal case from the Magistrates’ court which concerns the common law offence of misconduct in public office. This case illustrates the application of the principles reformulated in the landmark case of Sin Kam Wah v HKSAR (2005) 8 HKCFAR 192.

 

Background

Facts

The defendant, Lau Man Kin (the “Defendant”) was the Research and Development Director of the Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute (“ASTRI”), a limited company established by the Hong Kong Government in 2000.

Between June 2016 and October 2017, the Defendant conducted 7 purchases on behalf of ASTRI and accepted the quotation by Globalactive Technology Ltd (“Globalactive”) and Broadlearning Technology (Asia) Ltd (“BTAL”), both of which were subsidiaries of Golden Commercial Ltd. (“GCL”). Both the Defendant and his wife were the directors of GCL, while BTAL was partly held by GCL and partly held by Cheng Yin Yee (“Cheng”), a senior to the Defendant at the university. Despite the Defendant’s interest and relationship with the above parties, he concealed the same in all the 7 purchases by declaring that he had no conflict of interest in the internal computer system of ASTRI.

The appeal

The Defendant was found guilty of the common law offence of misconduct in public office by the Magistrate, and was sentenced to an imprisonment of 6 months, suspended for 30 months. The Defendant appealed against the conviction on the grounds that:

  1. the Magistrate failed to consider / sufficiently consider the good character of the Defendant;
  2. the Magistrate erred in law when considering the means rea (mental) elements of the common law offence of misconduct in public office;
  3. the Magistrate erred in law in ruling that the Defendant has no “reasonable excuse” in committing the wrongful acts;
  4. the Magistrate erroneously ruled that the Defendant’s misconduct was serious. 

 

Ground 1: The Defendant’s previous good character

The Defendant argued that the magistrate failed to consider / sufficiently consider the good character of the Defendant, and accordingly failed to give direction regarding the Defendant’s credibility and his low propensity to commit crime.

The Court did not consider this ground tenable since the Magistrate has already given a good character direction in his judgment. This indicates that the Magistrate must have already considered the Defendant’s good character in his favour when determining his credibility and propensity to commit crime.

 

Ground 2: Mens rea (mental element)

It is not disputed by the Defendant that the common law offence of misconduct in public office is committed where (1) a public official; (2) in the course of or in relation to his public office; (3) wilfully misconducts himself, by act or omission; (4) without reasonable excuse or justification; (5) where such misconduct is serious.

Wilful misconduct

The Defendant argued that given his initial disclosure of interest in GCL, Globalactive and BTAL when he first commenced his office in 2014, his failure to disclose interest again before the purchases only rendered the disclosure incomplete and not sufficient, but should not amount to a wilful misconduct. The Court however refuted this argument, as the Defendant only notify ASTRI that he was a former director of GCL. There was no disclosure on his and his wife’s shareholding in GCL, nor his relationship with Cheng, and hence the Defendant had never made an authentic disclosure regarding his interest. It is also unlikely that he was not aware that his conduct in the 7 purchases would give rise to a serious conflict of interest against his relationship with the parties involved. The Court on that account inferred that the Defendant deliberately concealed his relationship with the parties, despite his knowledge that the same should be disclosed.

 

Ground 3: Reasonable excuse defence

The Defendant raised the defence of reasonable excuse because upon the full disclosure of the Defendant’s interest in 2018 to ASTRI after the 7 purchases had been conducted, the Defendant was permitted to continue with the procurement in relation to Globalactive and BTAL. The Court ruled that in any event, the Prosecution only needs to prove that the Defendant had the relevant mens rea at the time when the offence was committed i.e. when he declared that he was not interested in the procurement. The fact that permission was later granted by ASTRI does not mean that the same had been granted when the Defendant committed the offence.

 

Ground 4: Seriousness of the offence

The Court considered it obvious that the Defendant’s misconduct is serious. As a director of ASTRI, the Defendant benefited from his position and his relationship with the suppliers, which disgraces his position, and brings ASTRI or even public organizations into disrepute, affecting social stability and harmony. The fact that ASTRI continued its employment relationship with the Defendant upon knowledge of his misconduct has no correlation with the seriousness of the misconduct as ASTRI may have its own commercial considerations, which are different from the factors considered by the Court in determining seriousness. The misconduct of the Defendant may seriously undermine public confidence towards officials of public organizations, and as such the Defendant must bear criminal liability.

 

Conclusion

The Court eventually upheld the decision of the Magistrates’ Court and dismissed the Defendant’s appeal against conviction. Persons holding public office should be aware of the recurring duty of full disclosure throughout the course of public office and the applicable circumstances which calls for disclosure of interest as stipulated in the relevant code of conduct of their employments.

 


For enquiries, please feel free to contact us at:

E: criminal@onc.hk                                                            T: (852) 2810 1212
W: www.onc.hk                                                                    F: (852) 2804 6311

19th Floor, Three Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong

Important: The law and procedure on this subject are very specialised and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.

Published by ONC Lawyers © 2021

Our People

Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Dominic Wai
Dominic Wai
Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Dominic Wai
Dominic Wai
Partner

Latest Publications

Offering client’s son a job to get a deal – is that bribery?
A Hong Kong logistics group went public in December 2013 but behind the scene, there was an alleged bribery involving the former managing director (the “Defendant”) of an international financial institution (“JPM”) and the son of the director of a company (“K Holdings”) in getting the IPO deal. It was not until February this year did the Court hand down judgment in acquitting the Defendant of the charge of offering an advantage to an agent.
Agents beware: When will accepting an advantage mean trouble?
The recent District Court decision of HKSAR v Cheung Ling Chu Sally and Another (DCCC 920/2019) [2021] HKDC 188 shed light on when it would be an offence under section 9 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (Cap 201)(“POBO”) when an advantage is accepted “in relation to the affairs or business of the principal”.
Agents, brokers and intermediaries beware: When is it not a crime to receive commissions and rebates after you have helped someone?
On 1 June 2020, the Court of Final Appeal handed down its decision inHKSAR v Chu Ang FACC No. 6 of 2019 (on appeal from HCMA No. 119 of 2018 [2020] HKCFA 18) allowing the prosecution’s appeal and setting aside the lower courts’ previous rulings that there was no case for the Defendant to answer. The leave to appeal was granted on the basis that it was reasonably arguable that there had been a substantial and grave injustice in the misapplication of section 9 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (Cap 201).
Back to top

过滤器
上一页

披露利益冲突的持续责任及重要性

2021-11-29

披露利益衝突的持續責任及重要性


简介

香港特别行政区 刘文建 [2021] HKCFI 3078一案中,原讼法庭(「原讼庭」)审理了一宗来自裁判法院的上诉案,案件涉及普通法的公职人员行为失当罪。本案说明了如何应用在Sin Kam Wah v HKSAR (2005) 8 HKCFAR 192这宗重要案例中重新制定的原则。


背景

案情

被告人刘文建(「被告人」)是香港应用科技研究院(「应科院」)的研究及发展总监。应科院是香港政府于2000年成立的一间有限公司。

20166月至201710月期间,被告人代表应科院进行了7项采购,并接受了Golden Commercial Ltd(「GCL」)的两家附属公司始动科技有限公司(「始动科技」)及博文教育﹙亚洲﹚有限公司(「博文教育」)的报价。被告人及其妻子均为GCL的董事,而GCL以及被告人在大学的师兄郑贤义(「郑先生」)分别持有博文教育的一部分。尽管被告人与上述各方有利益冲突和私人关系,但他在7项采购中均隐瞒上述关系,并在应科院的内部电脑系统中申报他没有利益冲突。


上诉

被告人被裁判官裁定普通法的公职人员行为失当罪名成立,被判监禁6个月,缓刑30个月。被告人就定罪提出上诉,理由如下:

1.       裁判官未有考虑/未有充分考虑被告人的良好品格;

2.       裁判官在考虑「公职人员行为失当」这项普通法控罪的犯罪造意(心理元素)时犯了法律上的错误;

3.       裁判官裁定被告人没有「合理辩解」而作出失当行为,是犯了法律上的错误;

4.       裁判官错误地裁定被告人的失当行为属严重程度。

 

理据一:被告人过去品格良好

被告人认为,裁判官没有考虑/没有充分考虑被告人的品格良好,因此没有就被告人可信程度及较低犯罪倾向给予指引。

原讼庭认为这项理据站不住脚,因为裁判官在判词中已作出了良好品格指引。这显示裁判官在判断被告人的可信度及犯罪倾向时,必定已考虑到被告人品格良好,作出了对他有利的考虑。


理据二:犯罪造意(心理元素)

被告人同意,如果 (1) 一名公职人员,(2) 在执行公职的过程中或在与其公职有关的情况下,(3) 明知而作出失当行为或不作出某些行为,(4) 而他没有合理辩解或理由;及 (5) 有关的失当行为是严重的,即触犯普通法的公职人员行为失当罪。


蓄意的失当行为

被告人认为,由于他在2014年入职时已披露他在GCL、始动科技及博文教育中的利益,他在涉案的采购之前没有再次披露利益,只是令披露不完整及不完善,而不应构成蓄意的行为失当。原讼庭不接纳这个论点,因为被告人只是向应科院披露他是GCL的前董事,并无披露他和妻子在GCL的持股,亦无披露他与郑先生的关系,因此被告人从未真实披露其利益。被告人亦不可能不知道他进行的7项采购会令他与涉及的人士产生严重利益冲突。因此原讼庭推断,被告人明知应披露他与有关各方的关系,但却刻意隐瞒。


理据三:合理辩解

被告人提出合理辩解作为抗辩理由,因为当被告人已进行了7项采购并于2018年向应科院全面披露利益后,他获准继续进行与始动科技及博文教育有关的采购工作。原讼庭指出,无论如何,控方只需证明被告人触犯罪行时(即他申报在采购中没有利益之时拥有犯罪造意。应科院后来给予批准,并不等于被告人在犯下罪行时已获得批准。


理据四:罪行的严重性

原讼庭认为被告人的失当行为明显是严重的。他身为应科院的科研总监,却从他与供应商的关系中得益,使其职位受辱,亦令应科院以至其他公营机构声誉受损,影响社会稳定及和谐。应科院在知悉被告人的失当行为后仍继续雇用他,这一点与其失当行为的严重性没有必然关系,因为应科院可能有其本身的商业考虑,这与法院在判断严重程度时所考虑的因素不同。被告人的失当行为可严重削弱公众对公营机构行政人员的信心,因此他必须负上刑事责任。


总结

上诉庭最后维持裁判法院的决定,驳回被告人的定罪上诉。担任公职的人士必须注意,在执行公职的过程中或在相关雇员行为守则规定披露利益的情况下,全面披露利益的持续责任。


如有查询,欢迎与我们联络:

E: criminal@onc.hk                                                            T: (852) 2810 1212
W: www.onc.hk                                                                    F: (852) 2804 6311

香港中环康乐广场8号交易广场第三期19

注意:以上内容涉及十分专门和复杂的法律知识及法律程序。本篇文章仅是对有关题目的一般概述,只供参考,不能构成任何个别个案的法律意见。如需进一步的法律咨询或协助,请联络我们的律师。

ONC柯伍陈律师事务所发行 © 2021

律师团队

伍兆荣
伍兆荣
资深合伙人
卫绍宗
卫绍宗
合伙人
伍兆荣
伍兆荣
资深合伙人
卫绍宗
卫绍宗
合伙人

最新文章

向客户的儿子提供职位以取得业务是否贿赂?
一家香港物流集团于2013年12月上市,但背后牵涉一宗涉嫌贿赂,当中涉及一家国际金融机构(「JPM」)的前常务董事(「被告人」)被指向一家公司(「K Holdings」)董事的儿子作出贿赂以取得首次公开招股的业务。法院今年2月才颁下裁决,裁定被告人向代理人提供利益的罪名不成立。
代理人注意:在甚么情况下接受利益会惹来麻烦?
最近在HKSAR v Cheung Ling Chu Sally and Another (DCCC 920/2019) [2021] HKDC 188一案中,区域法院探讨了在甚么情况下「就主事人的事务或业务」接受利益,会构成香港法例第201章 《防止贿赂条例》(「该条例」)第9条下的罪行。
代理人、经纪人及中介人注意: 在甚么情况下就协助他人而收受佣金及回扣会构成罪行?
2020年6月1日,终审法院就香港特别行政区 诉 赵莺 (终审法院刑事上诉2019年第6号;[2020] HKCFA 18)(原高等法院裁判法院上诉2018年第119号)一案颁下裁决,裁定控方上诉得直,并撤销下级法院较早前指被告人无须答辩的裁决。终审法院乃基于以下理由而给予上诉许可:由于香港法例第201章《防止贿赂条例》第9条被错误应用,故本案有可能存在实质及严重的不公平情况。
Back to top