filter
Back

Money-Laundering: Adverse Inference Drawn Following Defendant's Failure to Substantiate His Position

2015-02-01

Introduction

As a sequel to our January newsletter on money laundering, this newsletter will discuss another recent judgment of the Court of Appeal, which relates to dealing with shares in a listed company.

Mr. Cheung Chun (“Cheung”) was charged with one count of dealing in property known or believed to represent proceeds of indictable offence, in particular 10,991,000 shares in Hisense Kelon Electrical Holdings Company Limited. Cheung was tried in the District Court. He pleaded not guilty and chose not to give evidence.  Cheung was acquitted after trial and the Secretary for Justice appealed to the Court of Appeal by way of case stated pursuant to section 84 of the District Court Ordinance (Cap 336). The appeal was allowed, whereby the Court of Appeal reversed the verdict and directed the trial be resumed[1].  The District Court followed the decisions of the Court of Appeal and Cheung was convicted and sentenced to 5 years and 9 months imprisonment. Cheung made an application for leave to appeal against the conviction and sentence[2].


Background

Gu Chujun (“Gu”) was the major shareholder and the Chairman of the Board of Directors of Greencool Technology Holdings Limited (“Greencool”). In 2002, Gu caused Greencool to acquire over 20% shareholdings in Guangdong Kelon Electrical Holdings Company Limited (“Guangdong Kelon”). Gu thereby became the single largest shareholder and the Chairman of the Board of Directors of Guangdong Kelon. Three BVI companies (collectively, the “BVI Companies”) were subsequently set up:

1.        BPH Ltd, with Mr. Xia Juxing (“Xia”), an employee of Greencool as one of the shareholder and director; 

2.        V&W Incorporation, with Mr. Li Xiangrong (“Li’), Gu’s driver as the sole shareholder and director;

3.        B&H Ltd, with Mr. Zhang Bomin (“Zhang”), an employee of Guangdong Kelon as the sole shareholder and director.

Between 2002 and 2005, a total of 75,695,000 shares in Guangdong Kelon were transferred to the corporate securities accounts of the BVI Companies. In early 2005, Gu and other related persons were investigated by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong and China Securities Regulatory Commission.  The trading of shares in Guandong Kelon was suspended on 16 June 2005 (the “Suspension”) and Gu was arrested in July 2005.

In June 2007, Guangdong Kelon changed its company name to Hisense Kelon Electrical Holdings Company Limited (“Hisense”).


The Prosecution’s case

During January 2001 to July 2008, Cheung was employed by Greencool as Gu’s chauffeur, with a monthly salary of around HK$15,000.  Between 18th September 2007 and 18th April 2008, the BVI Companies transferred a total of 10,991,000 shares in Hisense (“Shares”) to Cheung’s personal security trading accounts, at a price of HK$0.89 per share.  Cheung subsequently sold 5,410,000 Shares to six Mainland residents at the same price of HK$0.89 per share.  These share transfers were conducted during the Suspension.

As the trading of Shares in the Hong Kong Stock Exchange resumed in January 2009, Cheung further sold 2,491,000 Shares at prices ranging from HK$0.82 to HK$4 per share. The remaining 3,100,000 Shares held in Cheung’s securities accounts were frozen due to the criminal prosecution. 

It was the prosecution’s case that Cheung had reasonable grounds to believe that all or part of the 10,991,000 Shares he received from the BVI Companies represented proceeds of an indictable offence.  The prosecution’s case based on, inter alia, the following:

1.        Cheung must have known that Gu’s arrest was related to the financial problems of Hisense, and he must have known the reasons for the Suspension;

2.        Cheung must have known the background of Zhang and Li. They have dealt with large volume of Shares during the Suspension and the circumstances were suspicious;

3.        Cheung’s monthly salary was around HK$15,000, he should not have financial resources to purchase Shares that were worth around HK$10 million. Further, it appears that the transactions were not supported by corresponding money transfer;

4.        Cheung purchased the Shares at a price of HK$0.89 per Share and subsequently transferred part of the Shares to six Mainland residents at the same price.


The Defendant’s case

According to the 2007 Annual Report of Hisense, the value of each Share was negative RMB0.6348.  In the circumstances, the Defendant alleged that at the material time, the Shares did not constitute “property” under the Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance (Cap 455) (“OSCO”). The Defendant’s second ground of appeal was that the Court had drawn adverse inference against the Defendant by reason of his dealing with the Shares, his relationship with Xia, Li and Zhang and his failure to produce supporting documents in the transfer of Shares. The Defendant argued that such adverse inference was inappropriate.  There was no evidence to show that Gu has provided illegitimate funding to the BVI Companies or that the Defendant was aware of the BVI Companies’ source of funding.  Further, the Shares may not be priced at HK$0.89 per shares, the finding that the Defendant lacked financial resources to purchase the Shares was unsafe.


The Court of Appeal’s Reasoning

According to section 2 of the OSCO, property includes both movable and immovable property within the meaning of section 3 of the Interpretation and General Clauses Ordinance (Cap 1), which provides that property includes money, goods, choses in action and land, etc.

In respect of whether the Shares constitute property, the Court considered that the value of a listed company includes intangible assets such as customer relationship, goodwill and business methodologies. The Court rejected the Defendant’s allegation that the Shares did not fall within the meaning of Property by reason of its negative value. The Court considered that despite the value of the Shares, Hisense would still be liable to repay its debts. In this regard, the Shares must be a chose in action and therefore property under the OSCO.

In respect of the 2nd ground of appeal, it is well established that it was unnecessary for the prosecution to prove that the properties were, as a matter of fact, the proceeds of an indictable offence, because the conduct element of the offence is dealing with property.  According to the case of HKSAR v Pang Hung Fai[3], the Court shall consider whether right-thinking member of the community would have reasonable grounds to believe that the money in question represented proceeds of an indictable offence. Further, the Court shall also consider the Defendant’s knowledge and whether he would have reasonable grounds to believe that the money in question represented proceeds of an indictable offence.

Considering the overall circumstances of the prosecution’s case, the purchase of a large volume of Shares at HK$0.89 per share was not a reasonable transaction. It further defied any commercial sense for the Defendant to sell half of the Shares he just purchased at the same price.  The Defendant failed to offer explanation or produce any documentation to rebut the prosecution’s case.  Therefore, the available evidence was sufficient for the Court to draw a necessary and irresistible inference that when the Defendant was dealing with the Shares, the Defendant knew or has reasonable ground to belief that the Shares represented proceeds of an indictable offence.  The leave to appeal against conviction was therefore dismissed.


Conclusion

Despite the Defendant’s attempt to argue that there might be other possible inferences to be drawn from the Shares transactions, in the absence of evidence, the Court of Appeal rejected the Defendant’s argument. As this case demonstrates, adverse inference against a defendant can be difficult to rebut and merely denying the prosecution’s case without proper substantiation may not be sufficient.   



For enquiries, please contact our Litigation & Dispute Resolution Department:

E: criminal@onc.hk                                                          T: (852) 2810 1212
W: 
www.onc.hk                                                                F: (852) 2804 6311

19th Floor, Three Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong

Important: The law and procedure on this subject are very specialised and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.

Published by ONC Lawyers © 2015


[1]     Secretary of Justice v Cheung Chun, CACC 40/2013

[2]     HKSAR v Cheung Chun, CACC 74/2014

[3]     HKSAR v Pang Hung Fai, Final Appeal (Criminal) No 8 of 2013

Our People

Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Back to top

過濾器
上一頁

洗黑錢案的被告人若無法提出證明,將被作出不利的推論

2015-02-01

簡介

繼上期探討洗黑錢的文章後,本文將討論上訴法院近期另一宗涉及處理上市公司股份的案件

張俊被控一項處理已知或相信為代表可公訴罪行得益的財產罪,涉及海信科龍電器股份有限公司的10,991,000股股份。張俊在區域法院受審,他否認控罪及選擇不作供。經聆訊後法院裁定他罪名不成立,律政司司長根據香港法例第336章《區域法院條例》第84條,以案件呈述的方式向上訴法庭上訴,結果上訴得直,上訴法庭撤銷原審判決並下令案件發還原審法官繼續處理[1]。區域法院按上訴法庭的指示裁定張俊罪名成立,並判他監禁59個月。張俊申請就定罪及判刑上訴[2]


背景

顧雛軍格林柯爾科技控股有限公司(「格林柯爾」)的大股東及董事會主席。2002年,顧雛軍格林柯爾購入廣東科龍電器股份有限公司(「廣東科龍」)超過20% 股份,並成為廣東科龍的最大單一股東及董事局主席。三間英屬維爾京群島公司(統稱「BVI公司」)其後成立:

  1. BPH Ltd,格林柯爾的僱員夏巨行是其中一名股東及董事;
  2. V&W Incorporation,顧雛軍的司機李向榮是唯一股東及董事;
  3. B&H Ltd,廣東科龍的僱員張伯民是唯一股東及董事。

20022005年期間,共有75,695,000股廣東科龍股份存入BVI公司的公司證券帳戶。2005年初,顧雛軍及其他相關人士被香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會及中國證券監督管理委員會調查,廣東科龍於2005616日被停牌,顧雛軍於20057月被捕。

20076月,廣東科龍改名為海信科龍電器股份有限公司(「海信科龍」)。


控方案情

20011月至20087月,張俊受僱於格林柯爾為顧雛軍的司機,月薪約15,000港元2007918日至2008418日期間,BVI公司以每股0.89港元的價格,把合共10,991,000股海信科龍股份(「海信科龍股份」)存入張俊的個人證券交易帳戶。其後張俊同樣以每股0.89港元的價格把5,410,000股出售予六名內地人士,而上述轉讓是在停牌期間進行的。

海信科龍股份於20091月在香港聯合交易所復牌後,張俊再以每股0.824港元的價格出售2,491,000股海信科龍股份,在張俊的證券帳戶持有的其餘3,100,000股海信科龍股份則因刑事檢控而被凍結。

控方案情指,張俊有合理理由相信他從BVI公司收到的10,991,000股海信科龍股份全部或部分代表可公訴罪行得益,因為:

  1. 張俊必定知道顧雛軍被捕是與海信科龍的財政問題有關,也必定知道停牌的原因;
  2. 張俊必定知道張伯民及李向榮的背景,他們在停牌期間處理大量海信科龍股份,情況是可疑的;
  3. 張俊的月薪約為15,000港元,應該沒有足夠的財力購買約值1,000萬港元的海信科龍股份。此外,有關交易看來並無相應的款項轉帳;
  4. 張俊以每股0.89港元的價格購買海信科龍股份,但其後以相同價格將部分海信科龍股份轉讓予六名內地人士。


辯方案情

根據海信科龍的2007年年報,海信科龍股份每股價0.6348元人民幣因此被告人認為,在關鍵時間,海信科龍股份並不構成香港法例第455章《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》所指的「財產」。被告人的第二個上訴理由,是指法院不應因他處理海信科龍股份、他與夏巨行、李向榮和張伯民的關係以及他未能提供股份轉讓證明文件,而對他作出不利的推論。被告人認為這種不利推論並不恰當,因為並無證據顯示顧雛軍曾向BVI公司提供不法資金,或顯示被告人對BVI公司的資金來源有任何認知。此外,海信科龍股份的每股價格未必是0.89港元,因此指被告人沒有經濟能力購買海信科龍股份的裁斷並不穩妥。


上訴法院的論證

根據《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》第2條,財產包括依照香港法例第1章《釋義及通則條例》第3條所界定的動產與不動產,即包括金錢、貨物、法據動產和土地等

在海信科龍股份是否構成財產的問題上,法院認為上市公司的價值包括無形資產,例如客戶關係、商譽及經營方法等等。法院不接納被告人指海信科龍股份因負值而並非「財產」,雖然海信科龍股份為負值,但海信科龍仍須承擔其債務。就此而言,海信科龍股份是法據動產,因此是《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》所指的「財產」。

至於第二個上訴理由,法律上早已確立,控方無需證明有關財產事實上是可公訴罪行的得益,因為這項罪行的犯罪行為元素是「處理財產」。根據HKSAR v Pang Hung Fai[3]一案,法院須考慮社會上具常識且思維正確的人的人是否有合理理由相信有關款項代表可公訴罪行的得益。此外,法院亦會考慮被告人知悉的事情,及被告人是否有合理理由相信有關款項代表可公訴罪行的得益。

考慮到控方的整體案情,以每股0.89港元的價格購買大量海信科龍股份並非合理交易,而他更沒有合理的商業理由以相同價錢將一半剛獲得的海信科龍股份轉售他人。被告人未能提供任何解釋或證明文件來推翻控方案情,因此,法院憑現有的證據已足以作出必需而無可抗拒的推論:即被告人在處理海信科龍股份時知道或有合理理由相信該等股份代表可公訴罪行的得益。故此,法院不准許就定罪提出上訴。


總結

儘管被告人嘗試爭辯有關海信科龍股份的交易可得出其他的推論,但在缺乏證據的情況下,被告人的論點被上訴法院駁回本案說明,要推翻對被告人作出的不利推論並不容易,單憑否認控方案情而沒有提出實質證據,未必足夠。


如有查詢,請聯絡我們的訴訟及調解爭議部門

E: criminal@onc.hk                                                          T: (852) 2810 1212
W: 
www.onc.hk                                                                F: (852) 2804 6311

香港中環康樂廣場8號交易廣場第三期19

注意:以上內容涉及十分專門和複雜的法律知識或法律程序。本篇文章僅是對有關題目的一般概述,只供參考,不能作為任何個別案件的法律意見。如需進一步的法律諮詢或協助,請聯絡我們的律師。

ONC柯伍陳律師事務所發行 © 2015


[1]     Secretary of Justice v Cheung Chun, CACC 40/2013

[2]     HKSAR v Cheung Chun, CACC 74/2014

[3]     HKSAR v Pang Hung Fai, Final Appeal (Criminal) No 8 of 2013

律師團隊

甄灼寧
甄灼寧
主管合夥人
伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
甄灼寧
甄灼寧
主管合夥人
伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
Back to top