filter
Back

Can solicitors rely on the defence of illegality when being sued for professional negligence in relation to an unlawful transaction?

2020-11-01

Introduction

In its recent judgment of Stoffel & Co. v Grondona [2020] UKSC 42, the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom (“Supreme Court”) examined the defence of illegality in the context of a professional negligence claim. The Supreme Court held that the true rationale of the defence of illegality is that recovery should not be permitted if it would result in inconsistency and disharmony in the law, and so cause damage to the integrity of the legal system.


Facts

Ms Grondona, the claimant, entered into a business arrangement with Mr Mitchell, in which Ms Grondona lent her good credit history to Mr Mitchell to enable him to obtain finance from high street lenders to purchase properties, while Mitchell would pay all monthly mortgages of the properties. In return, Ms Grondona would receive 50% of the net profit when any of the properties were sold.

In July 2002, Mr Mitchell bought a flat in London (the “Property”) for £30,000 and borrowed a loan secured by a charge over the Property. The charge was registered in the name of the lender, BM Samuels Finance Group plc (“BM Samuels”). In October 2002, Mr Mitchell purported to sell the Property to Ms Grondona at £90,000 and Ms Grondona obtained a mortgage advance from Birmingham Midshires. Such mortgage advance was procured by fraud since it was a scheme used by Ms Grondona and Mr Mitchell to obtain mortgage loans on inflated valuation and for Ms Grondona to lend her good credit history to Mr Mitchell. However, Stoffel & Co., the defendant solicitors in the action, negligently failed to register documents effecting the transfer of title in the Property from Mr Mitchell to Ms Grondona. It also failed to register the release of the charge in favour of BM Samuels.

In 2006, Ms Grondona defaulted on mortgage payments and Birmingham Midshires brought proceedings against her. Because of the negligence of Stoffel & Co., Mr Mitchell remained the registered owner of the Property and BM Samuels remained as the chargee. Hence Ms Grondona was unable to sell the Property to meet her arrears. In turn, Ms Grondona brought a claim against Stoffel & Co. for breach of duty and/or breach of contract, while Stoffel & Co. raised the defence of illegality.


The defence of illegality

As decided in Patel v Mirza [2017] AC 467, when considering the defence of illegality, the Court has to determine whether allowing a claim which is tainted by illegality would be contrary to public interest in a way that would produce inconsistency damaging to the integrity of the legal system. As such, the Court should consider:

1.        the underlying purpose of the prohibition which has been transgressed and whether that purpose will be enhanced by denial of the claim;

2.        any other relevant public policy on which denying the claim may have an impact; and

3.        whether denying the claim would be a proportionate response to the illegality.

It is noted that if there is a clear conclusion that the defence of illegality should not be allowed after examining the policy considerations, there will be no need to consider proportionality.


The judgment in light of Patel v Mirza

In application of the three considerations in Patel v Mirza, the Supreme Court made the following findings:

1.        The illegal conduct in question is mortgage fraud and the underlying policy is both deterrence and the protection of the public, in particular mortgagees, from suffering loss. However, denying Ms Grondona’s claim against the solicitors’ negligent failure to register the transfer of the Property does not seem to enhance the relevant underlying purposes. On the contrary, the required registration of transfer was in fact in the interest of not only Ms Grondona, but also the mortgagee, since it was in their interest that Ms Grondona should have assets to meet her liability.

2.        The denial of Ms Grondona’s claim would contradict with the policy that conveyancing solicitors should perform their duties to their clients diligently and without negligence and that in the event of a negligent breach of duty, the client should be compensated for the loss he has suffered. It would also create incoherence in the law that equitable interest in the Property was passed to Ms Grondona once Mr Mitchell had done everything he could do to effect the legal transfer, notwithstanding that the contract was tainted with illegality.

3.        In considering proportionality, which is not necessary in this case, the Supreme Court found that the breach of duty by the solicitors was not central to the illegal conduct of Ms Grondona given that by the time the solicitors were required to register the transfer, (a) the defrauding of Birmingham Midshires had been completed and (b) the equitable interest in the Property had already passed to Ms Grondona. Thus, it would be disproportionate to deny Ms Grondona’s claim.

It is emphasized that while profiting from one’s own wrongdoing remains a relevant consideration, the true focus should be whether permitting recovery would produce inconsistency damaging to the integrity of the legal system.


Conclusion

On the particular facts of Stoffel & Co. v Grondona, the Supreme Court ruled that allowing the tainted claim would not cause such legal incoherence and disharmony such that the integrity of the legal system would be damaged. Thus, the claim was not barred by illegality.

While solicitors and other professionals may rely on the defence of illegality when being sued for professional negligence in relation to tainted claims, the Court assesses illegality by applying the three considerations in Patel v Mirza. Instead of a definitive test, it presents a flexible approach which finds balance between various public policies in light of the infinite factors which may be relevant to the particular case.




For enquiries, please feel free to contact us at:

E: ldr@onc.hk                                                                   T: (852) 2810 1212
W:
www.onc.hk                                                                F: (852) 2804 6311

19th Floor, Three Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong

Important: The law and procedure on this subject are very specialised and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.

Published by ONC Lawyers © 2020


Our People

Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Back to top

過濾器
上一頁

律師如在涉及違法交易的案件中被控專業疏忽, 可否以對方作出「違法行為」作抗辯理由?

2020-11-01

簡介

最近在 Stoffel & Co. v Grondona [2020] UKSC 42 一案中,英國最高法院最高法院」)審視了在被控專業疏忽以對方作出「違法行為」作抗辯理由這個做法。最高法院認為,容許以「違法行為」作抗辯理由的真正理據在於若追討賠償導致與法律抵觸及衝突並因而損害法律制度的穩健性,則法院不應批准有關索償。


案情

Grondona 女士答辯人」)Mitchell 先生訂立了一項商業安排。據此,答辯人向Mitchell 先生提供其良好的信貸紀錄,以便Mitchell 先生向市面上的放款人取得融資收購物業Mitchell 先生將會按月償還所有物業按揭貸款,而在任何物業售出時,答辯人將獲得淨利潤的50%作為回報。

20027月,Mitchell 先生以3鎊在倫敦買入一個單位該物業」),並以該物業作抵押借入一筆貸款。物業的押記以放款人 BM Samuels Finance Group plc 放款人」)的名字登記。200210月, Mitchell 先生宣稱以 9鎊向答辯人出售該物業,而答辯人則自 Birmingham Midshires該銀行」)取得按揭貸款。由於答辯人與Mitchell 先生早有預謀藉著誇大該物業的估值以及讓答辯人向 Mitchell 先生提供其良好的信貸紀錄以取得按揭貸款,故此上述按揭貸款是以欺詐手段獲得的。然而,案中的被告Stoffel & Co. 律師事務所(律師」)不但因疏忽而沒有登記使該物業的業權由 Mitchell 先生轉讓予答辯人的文件,而且沒有登記以放款人為受益人的押記解除書。

2006年,該銀行因答辯人拖欠按揭還款而對答辯人提出訴訟。由於律師的疏忽,Mitchell 先生仍為該物業的註冊業主、放款人仍為承押人,答辯人因而無法出售該物業以償還其欠款。因此,答辯人控告律師違反責任及或違約,而律師則以答辯人作出「違法行為」作抗辯理由。


以「違法行為」作抗辯理由

正如法院在 Patel v Mirza [2017] AC 467 一案的裁決,在考慮「違法行為」這項抗辯理由時,法院須判斷,批准涉及違法行為的申索是否有違公眾利益,從而損害法律制度。因此,法院應考慮

  1. 被違反的禁制背後的目的,以及拒絕有關申索是否能促進該目的;
  2. 因有關申索被拒而可能受影響的任何其他相關公共政策
  3. 就有關違法行為而言,拒絕該申索是否相稱的回應

注意的是,倘若法院在審視政策考慮因素後明確裁定不應批准以「違法行為」作抗辯理由,則無須考慮相稱性。


參考 Patel v Mirza 案後得出的判決

最高法院採用Patel v Mirza 案的三項考慮因素,作出以下裁斷

  1. 涉案的違法行為是按揭詐,有關政策同時阻嚇及保障公眾尤其是承按人免受損失。然而,拒絕答辯人針對律師因疏忽沒有登記轉該物業的申索看來並無促進該目的。相反,按照規定進行轉讓登記事實上不只符合答辯人的利益,也符合承按人的利益,因答辯人擁有資產償還債務將符合各方的利益。
  2. 拒絕答辯人的申索將與以下政策背道而馳處理物業轉易的律師應勤勉而毫無疏忽地履行其對客戶負有的責任,倘若出現疏忽違反責任的情況,客戶應就其蒙受的損失獲得賠償。此外,拒絕答辯人的申索亦會使法律不一致:Mitchell 先生已竭盡所能轉讓該物業定權益後,該物業的衡平法權益便移交予答辯人,儘管有關合約涉及違法行為亦然。
  3. 最高法院在考慮相稱性就本案而言並非必須)後裁斷,鑒於在律師須登記轉讓前,(a)欺詐該銀行的行為已告完成;及 (b) 該物業的衡平法權益已移交予答辯人,故律師違反責任並非答辯人違法行為的核心。因此,拒絕答辯人的申索是不相稱的。

最高法院強調,儘管避免某人因其本身的過錯而獲得利益仍是一項相關考慮因素,但真正的重點應為批准索償是否會令法律制度的穩健性受損。


總結

根據本案的具體案情,最高法院裁定,批准答辯人的申索不會導致法律抵觸及衝突,繼而令法律制度的穩健性受損。因此,答辯人的違法行為並不妨礙其提出申索。

儘管律師及其他專業人士在涉及違法行為的申索中被控專業疏以「違法行為」作抗辯理由,但法院會採用Patel v Mirza 案的三項考慮因素來評估有關違法行為這並非一項決定性測試,而是讓法院能夠在考慮與具體案情有關的無數可能因素後在各項公共政策之間取得平衡的靈活處理方法。



如有查詢,歡迎與我們聯絡:

E: ldr@onc.hk                                                                   T: (852) 2810 1212
W:
www.onc.hk                                                                F: (852) 2804 6311

香港中環康樂廣場8號交易廣場第三期19

注意:以上內容涉及十分專門和複雜的法律知識法律程序。本篇文章僅是對有關題目的一般概述,只供參考,不能構成任何個別案的法律意見。如需進一步的法律諮詢或協助,請聯絡我們的律師。

ONC柯伍陳律師事務所發行 © 2020



律師團隊

甄灼寧
甄灼寧
主管合夥人
伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
甄灼寧
甄灼寧
主管合夥人
伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
Back to top