filter
Back

The UK Supreme Court restated the “No Reflective Loss Rule” – the significance of the decision to civil claims and insolvency law

2020-07-31

Introduction

In its recent judgment of Sevilleja v Marex Financial Ltd [2020] UKSC 31, the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom (“Supreme Court”) restated the rule against reflective loss (“No Reflective Loss Rule”). It held that the No Reflective Loss Rule would only bar the claims made by shareholders against wrongdoers who committed wrongs against and caused loss to the company, which in turn caused the shareholders to suffer diminution in the value of their shares or the amount of their distribution. The Supreme Court effectively narrowed down the scope of application of the No Reflective Loss Rule.


Facts

Marex sued and obtained judgment for more than US$5.5 million against two companies owned and controlled by Mr Sevilleja (“Companies”). Mr Sevilleja allegedly transferred the Companies’ assets to his personal account and placed the Companies into insolvent voluntary liquidation. Marex claimed against Mr Sevilleja and sought damages for (1) inducing or procuring the violation of Marex’s rights under the judgment against the Companies, and (2) intentionally causing Marex to suffer loss by unlawful means.

Mr Sevilleja contended that Marex’s claim against him should be barred by the No Reflective Loss Rule because Marex, as a creditor of the Companies, was claiming for reflective loss which was suffered by the Companies (whose assets were depleted by Mr Sevilleja) and ought to be recovered by the Companies only.


What is the No Reflective Loss Rule?

The No Reflective Loss Rule originated from the principle that the only person who can seek relief for an injury done to a company, where the company has a cause of action, is the company itself (Foss v Harbottle (1843) 2 Hare 461).

In Prudential Assurance Co Ltd v Newman Industries Ltd (No 2) [1982] Ch 204, the Court of Appeal adopted the principle in Foss v Harbottle and held that where a company suffered loss from the wrongs committed by a wrongdoer, and that loss resulted in a fall in the value of the shares of the company, a shareholder could not claim against the wrongdoer for the diminution in the market value of the shares. The shareholder did not suffer any personal loss. His only loss was through the company, in the diminution in the value of the net assets of the company, and was merely a reflection of the loss suffered by the company, which can be made good once the company recovered its loss from the wrongdoer.

The No Reflective Loss Rule was based on the company law principles that:

1.        a share is a right of participation in the company on the terms of the articles of association, which normally confer on a shareholder a number of rights, including a right to vote on resolutions at general meetings, a right to participate in the distributions which the company makes out of its profits, and a right to share in its surplus assets in the event of its winding up;

2.        it is for the company to decide whether to sue upon wrongs committed against it;

3.        the shareholder has entrusted the management of the company’s affairs (including its right of action) to the company’s decision-making organs, including, ultimately, the majority of members voting in general meeting; and

4.        if such a decision is not taken in the proper exercise of the relevant powers, then the law provides the shareholder with a number of remedies, including a derivative action, and equitable relief from unfairly prejudicial conduct.

 

Expansion of the No Reflective Loss Rule

Prudential was approved in the subsequent House of Lords decision Johnson v Gore Wood & Co (a firm) [2002] 2 AC 1, where Lord Millett (mistakenly) considered the rationale behind the No Reflective Loss Rule to be the avoidance of double recovery and paved the way for the expansion of the No Reflective Loss Rule beyond its narrow ambit in Prudential.

Lord Millet’s expositions of the No Reflective Loss Rule were interpreted subsequently (including by the Court of Appeal in the present case) as expanding to prevent other stakeholders (in the present case, Marex was in the capacity of a creditor only, and not a shareholder) from recovering loss where the company had a claim for the same wrongdoing. The Court of Appeal in the present case held that Marex’s claim was barred by the No Reflective Loss Rule even Marex sued as a creditor and not a shareholder.


The Supreme Court’s decision

The seven Supreme Court judges unanimously allowed Marex’s appeal on the basis that the No Reflective Loss Rule did not apply to Marex’s claim.

All judges recognised the rigidity of the No Reflective Loss Rule but were divided into 4:3 as to its fate – the majority (led by Lord Reed) acknowledged the No Reflective Loss Rule should be restated and confined to the original ambit in Prudential whereas the minority (led by Lord Sales) opined the Rule should be abolished in its entirety.

Lord Reed, delivering the judgment on behalf of the majority, reconfigured the Rule by dividing claims into two kinds:

1.        the first kind being claims that are brought by shareholder in respect of loss which he has suffered in the capacity as shareholder, in the form of a diminution in share value or in distributions, which is the consequence of loss sustained by the company, in respect of which the company has a cause of action against the same wrongdoer; and

2.        the second kind being claims that are brought, whether by a shareholder or by anyone else, in respect of loss which does not fall within the description of the first kind of claims, but where the company has a right of action in respect of substantially the same loss.

In the first kind, Lord Reed held that the No Reflective Loss Rule should stand to uphold company autonomy. Shareholders should not be empowered to bring proceedings separately in respect of company's loss.

In the second kind, to which this appeal belonged, the concern for company autonomy that underpinned Foss v Harbottle does not arise. While the risk of double recovery must be curbed, it does not mean such risk must be curbed to the prejudice of a creditor. Such risk may be properly avoided by other means without giving priority to company’s claim as a matter of law. However, Lord Reed did not decide on whether double recovery did exist (and if so, the court’s response to it) if Marex were to pursue its claim.


Implications on civil claims and Insolvency law

As pointed out by Professor Andrew Tettenborn in his commentary (L.Q.R. 2019, 135(Apr), 182-186) after the Court of Appeal decision of the present case, “[the No Reflective Loss Rule’s] tentacles have spread alarmingly, rather like some ghastly legal Japanese knotweed. Today it promises to distort large areas of the ordinary law of obligations unless drastic steps are taken to prune it.

The landmark decision of the Supreme Court has the effect of pruning the scope of the No Reflective Loss Rule delineated in Prudential. It confined the Rule to claims by shareholders that, as a result of actionable loss suffered by their company, the value of their shares, or of the distributions they receive, has been diminished. Other claims, whether by shareholders or anyone else, should be dealt with in the ordinary way. The analysis and cases (notably those following the Lord Millet’s reasoning in Johnson) that sought to expand the application of the Rule were overruled.

The decision is to be welcome. Getting an empty judgment, as the claimant Marex did in this case, is an all too common frustration for claimants in civil cases. After this decision, claimants in a similar position as Marex could sue the controllers of the corporate defendants whose assets they stripped away. In the past, claimants in the position like Marex would need to wind up the corporate defendants, appoint liquidators over them, in the hope that the liquidators could recover the company's assets from its former controllers.  This is a very tedious, expensive and uncertain process. The Supreme Court decision would enable justice to be done in a more expeditious and less costly manner.




For enquiries, please feel free to contact us at:

E: ldr@onc.hk                                                                   T: (852) 2810 1212
W:
www.onc.hk                                                                F: (852) 2804 6311

19th Floor, Three Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong

Important: The law and procedure on this subject are very specialised and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.

Published by ONC Lawyers © 2020


Our People

Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Back to top

过滤器
上一页

英国最高法院重新述明「不容追讨反射损失法则」 ——对民事申索及清盘法别具意义的判决

2020-07-31

简介

最近在 Sevilleja v Marex Financial Ltd [2020] UKSC 31 一案中, 英国最高法院(「最高法院」)重新述明「不容追讨反射损失法则」(「该法则」),裁定该法则只禁止股东针对向该公司作出失当行为并使其受损(因而导致股东的股份价值或分派金额减少)的犯过者索偿。最高法院实际上收窄了该法则的适用范围。


案情

Marex 控告 Sevilleja 先生所拥有和控制的两间公司(「该等公司」),获法院裁定胜诉,可获支付超过550万美元。Sevilleja 先生被指将该等公司的资产转让至其个人帐户,并使该等公司因无力偿债而进行自愿清盘。Marex 其后控告 Sevilleja 先生以下事项提出索偿:(1) 诱使或促使他人侵犯 Marex 在裁决下针对该等公司的权利;及 (2) 蓄意以非法手段使 Marex 蒙受损失。

Sevilleja 先生认为,Marex 应该因该法则而不能对他提出申索,因为 Marex(作为该等公司的债权人)是在就该等公司蒙受的反射损失索偿,而该公司的资产已被 Sevilleja 先生耗尽,所以理应只可由该等公司追讨。


何谓不容追讨反射损失法则?

该法则源自以下原则:对于有诉讼因由的公司来说,唯一能够就其蒙受的损失寻求济助的人士是该公司本身(Foss v Harbottle (1843) 2 Hare 461)。

Prudential Assurance Co Ltd v Newman Industries Ltd (No 2) [1982] Ch 204 一案中,上诉法院采纳 Foss v Harbottle 案的原则,裁定如某公司因犯过者的失当行为而蒙受损失,而该损失导致该公司的股份价值下跌,该公司的股东不得就股份的市值减少向犯过者索偿。股东并无蒙受任何个人损失,其唯一损失是来自该公司,即该公司的资产净值下跌,因此只是反映该公司所蒙受的损失,只要该公司成功向犯过者追讨损失便可得到补偿。

该法则以下列公司法原则为基础:

  1. 股份是一项根据组织章程细则的条款参与公司事务的权利。组织章程细则通常赋予股东多项权利,包括在股东大会上就决议案投票、获公司从利润中作出的分派,以及在公司清盘时获得其剩余资产;
  2. 是否就他人针对某公司作出的失当行为提诉,由该公司决定;
  3. 股东已委托公司的决策机关(包括最终在股东大会上投票的大多数成员)管理公司的事务(包括其诉讼权);及
  4. 如决策是未经妥当行使有关权力而作出,则法律为股东提供多个补救方法,包括衍生诉讼以及就不公平损害行为请求法院授予衡平法济助。


该法则的适用范围扩大

之后在 Johnson v Gore Wood & Co (a firm) [2002] 2 AC 1 一案中,英国上议院认同 Prudential 案的裁决,但苗礼治勋爵(错误地)认为该法则背后的理据是避免双重追偿,导致该法则超出其在 Prudential 案的狭窄范围。

其后在多宗案件中,法院(包括本案的上诉法院)将苗礼治勋爵对该法则适用范围的阐述解读为扩大至禁止其他利益相关者(Marex 在本案中只是作为债权人而非股东)在公司可就同一失当行为索偿的情况下追讨损失。在本案中,上诉法院裁定,即使 Marex 是以债权人(而非股东)身分提诉,仍会因该法则而被禁止申索。


最高法院的裁决

最高法院七位法官一致裁定Marex 胜诉,原因是该法则并不适用于 Marex 的申索。

全体法官均承认该法则过于僵化,但对于处理方法则以43裁定如下:以韦彦德勋爵为首的4位法官认为应重新述明该法则并将其局限于 Prudential 案的原定适用范围;而以赛尔斯勋爵为首的3位法官则认为应把该法则完全废除。

代表大多数法官宣读判词的韦彦德勋爵重新建构该法则,将申索分为以下两类:

  1. 第一类是股东就其以股东身分所蒙受的损失而提出的申索,有关损失为股份价值或分派减少,乃因公司遭受的损失所造成,而公司就此对同一犯过者有诉讼因由;及
  2. 第二类是股东或其他人士就其不属于第一类申索描述范围之内的损失而提出的申索,但在该情况下公司有权就大致相同的损失提起诉讼。

就第一类申索而言,韦彦德勋爵裁定该法则应维持有效以维护公司的自主权。股东不应获授权就公司的损失另行提起法律程序。

至于本上诉案所属的第二类申索,并无引起对公司自主权的顾虑(其支持 Foss v Harbottle 案原则)。尽管必须防止双重追偿的风险,但并不代表须以损害债权人的方式防止有关风险。在法律上,可采用其他不给予该公司的申索任何优先权的方式,以妥当地避免上述风险。然而,韦彦德勋爵并没有就以下情况作出裁断:若 Marex 进行申索,是否真的存在双重追偿(如是,法院将如何回应)。


对民事申索及清盘法的影响

上诉法院就本案颁下裁决后,Andrew Tettenborn 教授在其评论(L.Q.R. 2019, 135(Apr), 182-186)中指出,「[不容追讨反射损失法则] 的适用范围以惊人的方式延伸,就像令人讨厌的入侵植物日本虎杖一样。除非采取果断的行动清除它,否则它将会扭曲大部分的普通债权法。

在这宗重要案例中,最高法院的裁决实际上将该法则的适用范围删减至 Prudential 案所解释者,将该法则的适用范围局限于股东由于其公司所蒙受可兴讼追讨的损失以致其股份价值或收取分派减少而提出的申索。至于其他申索(不论是股东或其他人士提出),则应按正常方式处理。因此,扩大该法则适用范围的分析及案件(尤其是跟随苗礼治勋爵在Johnson案中的论证的案件)已被推翻。

本案的裁决无疑会受到欢迎。就如本案的申索人 Marex 一样,获颁无法执行的判决对民事案件的申索人来说是令人沮丧而且极为常见的事。在本案的裁决后,与 Marex 类似境况的申索人将可控告剥夺被告公司资产的控权人。过去,与 Marex 境况类似的申索人需把被告人公司清盘、对其委任清盘人,才有望清盘人可从被告公司的前控制人追讨公司的资产,过程十分繁琐、费用高昂,而且结果难以确定。最高法院的裁决将有助我们以更快捷和较低成本的方式彰显公义。



如有查询,欢迎与我们联络:

E: ldr@onc.hk                                                                   T: (852) 2810 1212
W: www.onc.hk                                                                F: (852) 2804 6311

香港中环康乐广场8号交易广场第三期19

注意:以上内容涉及十分专门和复杂的法律知识及法律程序。本篇文章仅是对有关题目的一般概述,只供参考,不能构成任何个别个案的法律意见。如需进一步的法律咨询或协助,请联络我们的律师。

ONC柯伍陈律师事务所发行 © 2020


律师团队

甄灼宁
甄灼宁
主管合伙人
伍兆荣
伍兆荣
资深合伙人
甄灼宁
甄灼宁
主管合伙人
伍兆荣
伍兆荣
资深合伙人
Back to top