filter
Back

How to win and repel trademark squatters in the PRC?

2021-05-29

Introduction

Foreign businesses are often vulnerable to trademark squatting in the PRC, where a “first-to-file” trademark system operates. In a “first-to-file” trademark system, trademark rights are awarded to the first applicant who applied for the relevant trademark as opposed to granting rights based on the legitimate use of the mark or an intent to use the mark. In a recent case, we have successfully assisted our client to repel a trademark squatter in the PRC.

How to win and repel trademark squatters in the PRC?


Background

Our client is a Canadian company (“M Inc.”) which manufactures products such as waist bands, carrying bags and organizing cases in the PRC through its PRC trading company but does not sell its products there. The trading company engaged an original equipment manufacturer (“OEM”) in the PRC for the manufacturing of the products.

In May 2017, M Inc. discovered that the OEM had filed three applications for registering the trademark of M Inc. for three Classes of goods (Classes 9, 18 and 21) in the PRC in its own name without M Inc.’s consent. As such, M Inc. raised objections against the trademark applications respectively.

At the very beginning, the OEM pretended and claimed that they would agree to assign the marks back to M Inc. and assignment documents were prepared for this purpose. However, it was subsequently found out that the OEM had already filed three assignment recordal applications for the opposed marks to an unrelated individual instead in March 2017.

Three oppositions against the OEM’s trademark applications to the Trademark Office of the PRC (“CTMO”) were filed on the basis that M Inc. is the true owner of the marks and entrusted their PRC trading company and factory to manufacture products bearing the mark prior to the filing date of the opposed marks, and the opposed marks were preemptive registrations made in bad faith.

However, the CTMO refused the initial oppositions as M Inc. could not adduce any signed agreement between the OEM and the trading company to support their claims. As such, the opposed marks were allowed to be registered.

 

Appeal and the CNIPA’s decision

We then prepared the respective invalidation actions against the squattered trademarks, in which we also made a request for oral hearing for the matter and effectively appealing the CTMO’s decision to the China National Intellectual Property Administration (“CNIPA”). Apart from asserting the client’s prior rights over the marks, we also scrutinized all outgoing documents and emails sent from the client and the trading company to the trademark squatter, in which we successfully traced useful linkage between the evidence of prior use and evidence of bad faith of OEM. The evidence we filed included notarized email chains between M Inc. and the OEM which contained purchase orders, sample products photos, products description and etc. before the filing date of the squattered marks.

At last, the CNIPA accepted our arguments and supporting documents and adjudicated that M Inc. was able to establish its submitted grounds and concluded that the registrations of the disputed marks shall be invalidated. The CNIPA made the following points (among others) in its written decision:

… …the evidence submitted clearly showed that M Inc. has had long standing business relationship with the OEM. M Inc.’s use of the disputed marks extensively on its products was to enhance public recognition of its brand, and the OEM must have been well aware of M Inc.’s mark given its capacity as its local manufacturer. As such, it is blatantly obvious that the OEM acted in bad faith and breached its duty of trust and confidence by selling products bearing the disputed marks to third parties without M Inc.’s authorization and registering the disputed mark on similar goods… …

 

The invalidations of the disputed marks in the three Classes successfully cleared all hindrances to M Inc.’s trademark registrations in the PRC.


Ways to prevent and repel trademark squatters

Foreign businesses relying on OEMs in the PRC for the manufacturing of their products are vulnerable to trademark squatting whether by their own OEMs directly, or by associated entities of the OEMs. It is not an easy task to remove those squattered marks and therefore prudent for the following measures to be implemented to shield against such risks:

1.       Filing and registering your marks at the very beginning as soon as possible. 

2.       Reviewing your trademark portfolio to ascertain whether it is sufficient to cover existing business activities and/or product lines both in and outside the PRC. 

3.       Signing license agreements with OEMs in the PRC (and their associated entities if any) at the beginning of the business relationship.

 

As the PRC has a “first-to-file” trademark regime, these measures are of paramount importance to foreign businesses with activities and products or services in the PRC. Further, the costs of implementing these preemptive measures could well be much lower than commencing legal actions like in trademark squatting case above. Foreign businesses in the PRC should therefore consider placing heavy emphasis on the protection of intellectual property rights in their business plan as a part of their overall risk management strategy, in line with the above suggestions.

 


For enquiries, please feel free to contact us at:

E: ip@onc.hk                                                                        T: (852) 2810 1212
W:
www.onc.hk                                                                     F: (852) 2804 6311

19th Floor, Three Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong

Important: The law and procedure on this subject are very specialised and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.


Our People

Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Lawrence Yeung
Lawrence Yeung
Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Lawrence Yeung
Lawrence Yeung
Partner

Latest Publications

Cybersquatting: How to Reclaim Your Domain Names?
It is not uncommon that reputable companies find their trademarks registered by the others as domain names since domain names are allocated on a first-come-first-served basis. The act of registering another company’s trademark as domain names with a view to profiting from that company’s goodwill, often by offering to sell to that company or his competitor the registered domain names at an inflated price, is generally referred to as “cybersquatting”. A company’s trademark may also be registered by competitors as domain name for the purpose of disrupting the company’s business. Mechanisms of domain name dispute resolution are available in Hong Kong for trademark owners to protect their rights against such bad-faith registration by cyber squatters, no matter whether the trademarks have been registered in Hong Kong or elsewhere.
How could your FinTech be protected by intellectual property laws in Hong Kong?
The FinTech industry is a highly competitive one driven by innovative ideas and it is essential to devise a comprehensive strategy to protect the products of your innovation and hard work from an early stage. If your FinTech product or service is rooted in ideas and innovation, have you ever think of – How and what extent could your FinTech be protected by Intellectual Property rights? If your business activities involve FinTech, you may need to consider whether and how your interests can be protected in the realm of IP law. In this article, we will start with exploring possible IP protection available to your FinTech, in particular patent protection, followed by protection by copyright for those not patentable parts. After which, protection for your company’s name or your FinTech product or service’s name under the trademark regime will be discussed. Finally, we will share some thoughts regarding possible protection for certain confidential information in relation to your trade, consisting of “know-how” and/or “skills”, which is not typically protected under the patent nor copyright regimes.
Are AI produced works protectable under Copyright Law?
In recent years, artificial intelligence or robots have been creating contents on their own. The famous Edmond de Belamy, which was sold for an unexpectedly high price of US$432,500 at auction, was an artwork created using artificial intelligence. Shimon, the singer-songwriter robot empowered by artificial intelligence which sings and writes its own lyrics and composes its own melodies, is about to go on tour to promote its first album. With an increasing amount of funds being invested in such technologies and the potential commercial benefits behind, crucial issues arise and have to be dealt with – can AI-generated contents be considered as copyrighted works? And if so – who should be the owner of the copyright?
Back to top

过滤器
上一页

如何击退内地商标抢注者?

2021-05-29

简介

中国内地采用「申请在先」的商标注册制度,最早将商标注册者(而非正当或有意使用商标者)将获授予商标权,因此外国企业在内地往往很容易被抢注商标。在最近一宗案件中,本所成功协助客户从内地抢注者手上夺回商标。

如何擊退內地商標搶註者?


背景

本所客户M Inc. 是一间加拿大公司(「该公司」),主要在内地透过其内地贸易公司生产腰包、手提袋及旅行套装等,但其产品并不在内地销售。其贸易公司在内地聘用了一家代工生产商(「该厂商」),为该公司生产上述产品。

20175月,该公司发现该厂商未经该公司同意,在内地以自己的名义就第91821类货品提交三项将该公司商标注册的申请。因此,该公司就该三项申请分别提出反对。

该厂商最初假装及声称同意将商标转让给该公司,并已为此准备转让文件。然而,该公司其后发现该厂商已于20173月提交三份转让备案申请,将争议商标转让给另一名无关的人士。

该公司向中国商标局(「商标局」)就该厂商的商标申请提出三项反对,理由是该公司才是争议商标的真正拥有人,并在争议商标的申请日期前已委托内地贸易公司及工厂制造带有争议商标的产品,而且争议商标是被恶意抢注的。

然而,商标局不接纳该公司提出的反对,因为该公司未能提出该厂商与贸易公司之间订立的任何协议来证明其说法。因此,争议商标获准注册。


上诉及知识产权局的决定

其后,本所就争议商标提出无效宣告诉讼,并请求就此进行口头聆讯,以及就商标局的决定向中国国家知识产权局(「知识产权局」)上诉。除了指出客户对争议商标拥有在先权利,本所亦审阅了客户及贸易公司向抢注者发出的所有文件和电邮,从中发现了重要的线索,找到在先使用争议商标的证据及与厂商恶意抢注的证据之间的关连。本所提交的证据包括该公司与该厂商之间的连串电邮(经公证),当中载有被抢注商标的申请日期前的订单、产品样办照片、产品说明等。

最后,知识产权局接受本所的论点及证明文件,裁定该公司能够确立其提出的理由,并宣布涉案商标的注册无效。知识产权局在其书面裁决中指出:

……在案证据已充分质证,案情较为明确,该公司与该厂商一直存在业务往来关系,该公司在其商品上使用争议商标,目的在于促使公众认牌购物,该厂商作为该公司在内地的贴牌加工商,明知争议商标存在,却未经该公司授权而向第三方销售带有争议商标的商品并在类似商品上申请注册,其行为难谓正当,违反了诚实信用原则 ……

       结果,争议商标在三个涉案类别的注册均被宣告无效,从而为该公司在内地注册争议商标消除了障碍。


如何防止及夺回商标

外国企业如委托内地代工生产商生产商品,很容易会被代工生产商或其相关公司抢注商标。要夺回这些商标并不容易,因此最好采取以下措施,以避免这种风险:

1.       一开始便应尽快提交商标注册申请。

2.       审视商标组合,以确定是否已充分涵盖在内地或其他地方的现有业务活动及/或产品。

3.       在建立业务关系前,与内地代工生产商及其相关公司(如有)订立授权协议。

 

由于内地采用「申请在先」商标注册制度,上述措施对于在内地经营业务及提供产品或服务的外国企业而言至关重要。此外,实施这些预防措施的成本,将远低于在上述情况下为夺回商标而提出法律诉讼的成本。因此,在内地营商的外国企业应考虑按照上述建议,加强保护其业务计划中的知识产权,作为其整体风险管理策略的一部分。

 

如有查询,欢迎与我们联络:

E: ip@onc.hk                                                                        T: (852) 2810 1212
W: www.onc.hk                                                                     F: (852) 2804 6311

香港中环康乐广场8号交易广场第三期19

注意:以上内容涉及十分专门和复杂的法律知识及法律程序。本篇文章仅是对有关题目的一般概述,只供参考,不能构成任何个别个案的法律意见。如需进一步的法律咨询或协助,请联络我们的律师。



律师团队

伍兆荣
伍兆荣
资深合伙人
杨先恒
杨先恒
合伙人
伍兆荣
伍兆荣
资深合伙人
杨先恒
杨先恒
合伙人

最新文章

域名抢注:如何取回你的域名?
由于域名是以先到先得的方式分配,不少知名公司会发现自己的商标已被他人注册为域名。这种将其他公司的商标注册为域名的行为通常被称为「域名抢注」,此行为往往透过以高价向该公司或其竞争对手出售已注册的域名,企图从该公司的商誉中获利。公司的商标亦可能会被竞争对手注册为域名,以图扰乱该公司的业务。不论其商标是否已在香港或其他地方注册,香港为商标拥有人提供的域名争议解决机制,均可保护商标拥有人的权利,防止域名抢注者的恶意注册。
你的金融科技是否获得香港知识产权法的保障?
金融科技业是一个由创意带动的高竞争行业,因此应制定全面策略,及早开始保护你的发明及作品。若你的金融科技产品或服务涉及创新及发明,你有否想过:金融科技如何及多大程度上受到知识产权保护?假如你的业务活动涉及金融科技,你或需考虑你的权益是否及如何受到知识产权法律的保护。在本文中,我们会先讲解金融科技可享的知识产权保护(特别是专利保护),以及不受专利保护的金融科技可获得的版权保护。然后,我们会探讨公司名称、金融科技产品或服务名称在商标制度下享有的保护。最后,我们将就若干在专利或版权制度下一般不受保护的商业秘密资料(包括「技术诀窍」及/或「技巧」)提出一些想法。
人工智能产生的作品受版权法保护吗?
近年,人工智能或机械人已开始自行创作内容。例如《Edmond de Belamy》这幅使用人工智能创作的名画,在拍卖会上以出乎意料的432,500 美元高价售出。能包办曲词创作及演唱的人工智能唱作机械人Shimon,也正准备为宣传其首张专辑作巡回演出。随着人工智能技术的投资金额日益增加以及考虑到背后的潜在商业利益,我们必须处理以下关键问题:人工智能产生的内容是否可被视为受版权保护的作品?如是,谁是版权拥有人?
Back to top