filter
Back

Email fraud cases: How best to recover the scammed funds

2020-09-01

Introduction

Not surprisingly, cybercrimes come along with the development of technology. The Hong Kong courts have considered many cases of cybercrimes, in particular email scams, in which the fraudsters found ways to deceive the victims into transferring money to unauthorised accounts in Hong Kong. Such bank account holders might be part of the fraud group as perpetrators or colluders, or they might be innocent recipients.  Deputy High Court Judge Cooney SC in Halliburton BV Merkezi Hollanda Ankara Merkez Turkiye Subesi v Sheng Yi (HK) Trade Co Ltd and Ors HCA 1627/2016 laid the foundation of a procedural “shortcut” for the victims to recover their defrauded money by obtaining a vesting order under s.52 of the Trustee Ordinance (Cap. 29), which has the effect of compelling the recipient’s bank to transfer the money back to the victim’s account, alongside the obtaining of a default judgment. This is a “shortcut” way of getting the scammed money back because the other route would be to sue the defendants for the scammed money that they have received, obtained a judgment and then apply to enforce the judgment by applying for an order to compel the bank to pay the scammed funds to the victim to satisfy the judgment. By the granting of a vesting order under the judgment granted, it would compel the bank to pay over the scammed funds without the need to apply to enforce the judgment. Since then, this procedural shortcut has not been questioned until lately.

This article is going to look at several recent cases, in which the courts conducted a meticulous examination in relation to the applicability of vesting orders under s.52 of the Trustee Ordinance in the email scam scenarios.


Statutory provision

The rationale of applying the Trustee Ordinance is because equity will impose a constructive trust on the fraudsters or the subsequent recipients of the defrauded money or assets, and hence they become “trustees” holding the defrauded money for and on behalf of the victims (and therefore have a duty to refund the money back to the victims).

The relevant provision is s.52(1)(e) of the Trustee Ordinance “where stock or a thing in action is vested in a trustee whether by way of mortgage or otherwise and it appears to the court to be expedient” then the court may “make an order vesting the right to transfer or call for a transfer of stock, or to receive the dividends or income thereof, or to sue for or recover the thing in action, in any such person as the court may appoint”.


Applicability of the Trustee Ordinance

800 Columbia Project Company LLC v Chengfang Trade Ltd and others
 [2020] HKCFI 1293

In 800 Columbia, the focus of the issue was whether the wording under s.52(1)(e) is wide enough to cover the defendants in email scam cases for the victims to be granted a vesting orders to recover funds.

Mr. Recorder Eugene Fung SC in this case took the view that as s.52(1) explicitly states “in any such person as the court may appoint”, a vesting order may only be granted to persons who are appointed to be trustees by the court. However, in email scam cases, according to Mr. Recorder Eugene Fung SC, the fraudsters and any subsequent recipients become constructive trustees by way of a declaration made by the court, and therefore such scams are not contemplated by s.52(1). Accordingly, s.52(1) of the Trustee Ordinance shall not be invoked in the context of email scams.

Wismettac Asian Foods Inc. v United Top Properties Ltd and others
[2020] HKCFI 1504

A different view was taken in the subsequent case of Wismettac Asian Foods, in which Deputy High Court Judge Paul Lam SC agreed to the analysis in 800 Columbia, to the extent that a declaration that a person has become a constructive trustee does not mean that the person has been “appointed” by the court as a trustee for the purpose of s.52(1) of the Trustee Ordinance.

Having said that, the Deputy Judge took the view that s.52(1)(e) is in contemplation of the vesting by way of operation of law in a constructive trust scenario. He stressed that the phrase “a thing in action is vested in a trustee whether by way of mortgage or otherwise”, in particular the word “otherwise” is capable of including vesting by way of operation of law. He further stressed that such a constructive trust is not created by a declaration by court upon the victim’s application for default judgment, but comes into existence the moment the fraudster or the subsequent recipient receives the victim’s money or its traceable proceeds in their bank accounts by operation of law.

The merits in Wismettac Asian Foods were later adopted in 2 other recent similar cases: Jensonn Power Systems Pte Ltd v Lishan Zhi Trading Co. Ltd [2020] HKDC 629 and Concrete Waterproofing Manufacturing Pty Ltd v Changxuan Co. Ltd [2020] HKDC 547.

TOKIĆ, D.O.O. v Hongkong Shui Fat Trading Limited
[2020] HKCFI 1822

In contrast, in the most recent case of TOKIĆ, D.O.O., Deputy High Court Judge Douglas Lam SC dismissed the application for a vesting order on the basis that the court had no jurisdiction to do so. He revisited the judgment in 800 Columbia and added that the defendants in email scams were “no more than recipients of proceeds of fraud and not ‘true’ trustees (i.e. the one holding equitable interests), constructive or otherwise.… they are merely required by equity to account as if they were trustees or fiduciaries, although they are not.”  

According to the Deputy Judge, s.52(1)(e) is a provision in the Trustee Ordinance which should be guided by the scope of its definitions provided under s.2. As the scope of trustees under the Trustee Ordinance should only be confined to “true” trustees, the wording “or otherwise” used in s.52(1)(e) as discussed above in Wismettac Asian Foods cannot be said to have an extended the scope of the “trustee” concept wider than the one provided for the entire Trustee Ordinance where no express provision is suggesting otherwise.


Commentary

In light of above these recent conflicting authorities, it appears that whether the court has the jurisdiction to make a vesting order in email fraud cases is unsettled.

Despite the court in Wismettac Asian Foods held that the phrase “or otherwise” under s.52(1)(e) of the Trustee Ordinance shall be construed to cover the granting of vesting orders in email fraud cases, “or otherwise” shall be construed together with the phrase “in any such person as the court may appoint” as a whole. As such, it would be odd to suggest that the two phrases in turn provide for different scopes of application when there is nothing in the wording explicitly suggesting that the provision can be used partially for enforcement purposes. In other words, it does not seem apt to say that constructive trusts are covered in the first-half of the provision whereas it is excluded in the second-half.

Additionally, it is a sound observation by Mr. Recorder Eugene Fung SC in 800 Columbia that there are two types of constructive trustees, in relation to which, in the context of email scams, the defendants in email scams (recipients of the unauthorized/unlawful funds in their bank accounts) are those who never assumed and never intended to assume the status of a trustee, whether formally or informally, but have exposed themselves to equitable remedies by virtue of their participation in the unlawful misapplication of trust assets. This is in contrast with the other type of constructive trustees who have lawfully assumed their obligation over the trust property. In the latter case, such “constructive trustees” are viewed as “true” de facto trustees who may fall within the meaning under s.52(1)(e) of the Trustee Ordinance.

In this connection, even if arguably the phrase “or otherwise” is wide enough to cover constructive trustees as suggested in Wismettac Asian Foods, such constructive trustees may not be deemed as a “true” trustee for the purpose of s.52(1)(e).

Taking a step back, with regards to the definition of trustee as provided in s.2 of the Trustee Ordinance, which is only confined to “true” trustee, there seems no convincing reason or necessary need to expand the meaning of trustees out of its scope under s.2 to cover constructive trustees derived in email frauds under s.52(1)(e).

With that said, the law in this area remains unsettled. In the view of the above discussed conflicting cases, for persons who have, in the unfortunate event, succumbed to being victims of email scams, adopting the traditional route of enforcing a judgment by way of obtaining garnishee orders may be the safer approach in order to safely secure enforcement actions against the recovery of funds from banks.




For enquiries, please feel free to contact us at:

E: criminal@onc.hk                                                          T: (852) 2810 1212
W:
www.onc.hk                                                                F: (852) 2804 6311

19th Floor, Three Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong

Important: The law and procedure on this subject are very specialised and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.

Published by ONC Lawyers © 2020


Our People

Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Back to top

过滤器
上一页

电邮骗案:追讨被骗资金的最佳方法

2020-09-01

引言

随着科技发展,网络罪行随之而来。香港法院已审理过多宗网络罪行案件,当中以电邮骗案为甚,骗徒设法诱骗受害人把金钱存入未经授权的本地帐户,有关银行帐户的持有人可能是有份行骗的犯案者或合谋者,亦有可能只是无辜的收款人。在 Halliburton BV Merkezi Hollanda Ankara Merkez Turkiye Subesi v Sheng Yi (HK) Trade Co Ltd and Ors HCA 1627/2016 一案中,高等法院暂委法官高乐贤资深大律师就受害人追讨被骗款项的程序「捷径」订立基础,即除了透过作出因欠缺行动而取得的判决(default judgment)外,亦准许受害人借着取得香港法例第29章《受托人条例》第52条下的归属令(vesting order),强制收款人的银行把款项退回受害人的帐户。这是一条较快取回骗款的「捷径」,否则受害人便需首先控告被告人骗取款项并取得裁决,然后向法院申请颁令才能强制银行向受害人付还骗款以履行判决。而凭借根据法院判决而作出的归属令,受害人无需申请执行判决,也可强制银行付还被骗资金。自那时起,上述程序捷径一直未受质疑,惟最近才受到质疑。

本文将探讨数宗近期案件,当中法院仔细审视了《受托人条例》第52条下的归属令是否适用于电邮骗案。


法例条文

应用《受托人条例》的理据是:衡平法会对骗徒或其后收取骗款或资产的人士施以法律构定信托,因此他们能成为及代表受害人持有骗款的「受托人」,并因而负有将款项退还予受害人的责任。

在《受托人条例》中,相关的条文是第52(1)(e) 条:「凡股票或据法权产是藉按揭或其他方式归属予受托人,而法院又觉得适宜」,则法院可「作出命令,将转让或要求转让股票的权利,或收取股票的股息或收益的权利,或为有关据法权产提出起诉或进行追讨的权利,归属法院所委任的人」。


《受托人条例》的适用性

800 Columbia Project Company LLC v Chengfang Trade Ltd and others
[2020] HKCFI 1293

800 Columbia 案中,争论的重点是:第52(1)(e) 条下的字眼是否足以涵盖电邮骗案的被告人,让受害人取得归属令以追讨资金。

该案的特委法官冯庭硕资深大律师认为,由于第52(1) 条明文规定「归属法院所委任的人」,故此归属令只可授给获法院委任为受托人的人,但在电邮骗案中,骗徒及任何其后的收款人是因为法院作出的宣布才成为法律构定受托人,所以有关骗案并未被第52(1) 条涵盖。因此,《受托人条例》52(1) 条并不适用于电邮骗案。

Wismettac Asian Foods Inc. v United Top Properties Ltd and others
[2020] HKCFI 1504

其后在 Wismettac Asian Foods 案中,高等法院暂委法官林定国资深大律师采纳了不同的观点。但他同意 800 Columbia 案的其中一点分析,认为当在法院宣布某人成为法律构定受托人时并不代表该人已获法院「委任」为《受托人条例》52(1) 条所指的受托人。

不过,该案的暂委法官认为第52(1)(e) 条涵盖了藉法律施行而形成的法律构定信托的情况。他强调「据法权产是藉按揭或其他方式归属予受托人」这句(尤其是「其他方式」一词)能够涵盖藉法律施行而作出的归属。他亦强调,上述法律构定信托并非透过法院在受害人申请因欠缺行动而作出的判决后作出宣布而产生,而是在骗徒或其后的收款人收到受害人的款项或可追踪得益存入其银行帐户的一刻藉法律施行而产生的。

其后,Wismettac Asian Foods 案的理据获近期两宗其他类似案件采用,分别是 Jensonn Power Systems Pte Ltd v Lishan Zhi Trading Co. Ltd [2020] HKDC 629 Concrete Waterproofing Manufacturing Pty Ltd v Changxuan Co. Ltd [2020] HKDC 547

TOKIĆ, D.O.O. v Hongkong Shui Fat Trading Limited
[2020] HKCFI 1822

相比之下,在最近期的 TOKIĆ, D.O.O. 一案中,高等法院暂委法官蓝德业资深大律师则驳回原告人的归属令申请,理由是法院并无有关司法管辖权。他重新审视 800 Columbia 案的判词,补充指电邮骗案的被告人「不过是诈骗得益的收款人,并非『真正』的受托人(即持有衡平法权益的人)、法律构定受托人或其他……他们只是按衡平法规定须犹如自己是受托人或受信人般作出交代,即使他们并非受托人或受信人亦然。」

暂委法官指第52(1)(e) 条是《受托人条例》的条文应按照其在第2条订明的释义范围解读。由于《受托人条例》下的受托人范围应只限于「真正」的受托人,上述在 Wismettac Asian Foods 案中第52(1)(e) 条使用的「其他方式」一词在无明文订明的情况下不能解释为将「受托人」概念的范围扩大至整项《受托人条例》中。


评论

考虑到以上近期案例中互相冲突的判决,对于法院是否具有司法管辖权就电邮骗案发出归属令似乎未有定论。

尽管法院在 Wismettac Asian Foods 案中裁定《受托人条例》第52(1)(e) 条的「或其他方式」应被解释为涵盖法院就电邮骗案发出归属令的情况,但「或其他方式」应与「归属法院所委任的人」一并解释。因此,在《受托人条例》并无明确指出该条文可局部用于执法目的之情况下,上述两个词组提供不同的应用范围这个观点便显得奇怪。换言之,有关条文的前半部分涵盖法律构定信托而后半部分将之排除在外这个观点并不恰当。

另外,冯庭硕资深大律师800 Columbia 案中作出了重要的观察:法律构定信托有两种,就电邮骗案而言,案中的被告人(即银行帐户收取未经授权/违法资金的收款人)从未承担及从未打算承担受托人的身分(不论正式或非正式),他们是因为参与非法挪用信托资产才须采取衡平法补救方法继而被视为法律构定受托人,这有别于受托人透过合法的途径来承担其对信托财产的义务的法律构定信托,因为只有后者中的「法律构定受托人」才可被视为「真正的」实际受托人,而属于《受托人条例》第52(1)(e) 条所指的情况。

就此而言,即使如Wismettac Asian Foods 案的判决所言,「或其他方式」可涵盖法律构定受托人,但有关法律构定受托人未必会被视为第52(1)(e) 条所指的「真正」受托人。

退一步来看,由于《受托人条例》第2条订明的释义只限「真正的」受托人,在并无具说服力的理由或需要将受托人的涵义扩大至超出其在第2条所指的范围之外的情况下,第52(1)(e) 条也不应涵盖电邮骗案中的法律构定受托人。

话虽如此,这方面的法律仍未有定论。考虑到上述互相冲突的案件,对于电邮骗案的受害人来说,采用传统的途径(即透过取得第三债务人命令来执行判决)或许是较为保险的方法,能够使其顺利取得执法行动,向银行追讨资金。



如有查询,欢迎与我们联络:

E: criminal@onc.hk                                                          T: (852) 2810 1212
W: www.onc.hk                                                                F: (852) 2804 6311

香港中环康乐广场8号交易广场第三期19

注意:以上内容涉及十分专门和复杂的法律知识及法律程序。本篇文章仅是对有关题目的一般概述,只供参考,不能构成任何个别个案的法律意见。如需进一步的法律咨询或协助,请联络我们的律师。

ONC柯伍陈律师事务所发行 © 2020


律师团队

甄灼宁
甄灼宁
主管合伙人
伍兆荣
伍兆荣
资深合伙人
甄灼宁
甄灼宁
主管合伙人
伍兆荣
伍兆荣
资深合伙人
Back to top