filter
Back

A Concise Guide to Banking and Financial Services Licensing in Hong Kong

2020-11-30

We are pleased to announce that we have published “A Concise Guide to Banking and Financial Services Licensing in Hong Kong”, which is available for download on our website for free. It aims to give a brief outline on the licensing systems and requirements for anyone who wishes to carry on banking, financial services, money related business, trust and company services business in Hong Kong.

Please click 'View PDFto download the Guide.


A Concise Guide to Banking and Financial Services Licensing in Hong Kong

Our People

Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Nelson Ho
Nelson Ho
Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Nelson Ho
Nelson Ho
Partner

Latest Publications

HKMA exploring possibilities of launching a “southbound” Bond Connect Scheme with the People’s Bank of China
The Bond Connect that links the Mainland and Hong Kong bond markets offered overseas investors a more convenient and efficient access to make investments in China’s fast-growing and enormous onshore bond market. Since its launch in 2017, the Bond Connect has been widely utilized by global investors. Further, given the strong performance of Renminbi in recent years, Mainland bonds are gaining higher and higher significance in different economies. Following the success of the “northbound” leg of Bond Connect, discussions on allowing Chinese investors and issuers to trade in the Hong Kong bond market have begun. In view of further developing the connection between the Mainland and Hong Kong bond markets, the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) has recently announced that it is studying plans for establishing a “southbound” leg of the Bond Connect with the People’s Bank of China (PBOC), in order to give Chinese investors access to global bond markets via Hong Kong. Such development is expected to generate ample opportunities for Hong Kong’s financial services industry and strengthen Hong Kong’s status as an international financial centre.
Essential features of the first individual bankruptcy regulation in China
China enacted its nationwide Enterprise Bankruptcy Law in 1986, but it is only for the insolvency of enterprises and does not cover the bankruptcy of natural persons. The Regulation of Shenzhen Special Economic Zone on Individual Bankruptcy, the first of its kind in China, was enacted on 31 August 2020 and has come into effect on 1 March 2021. The drafting of the Regulation has made reference to similar laws in jurisdictions with a relatively mature market economy, such as the United Kingdom, the United States, Germany, Japan, Hong Kong and Taiwan. The Regulation aims at constructing a complete and modern bankruptcy system and providing a way out for honest but unfortunate individuals saddled with debts they are unable to repay.
Stock Exchange proposes changes to the corporate governance requirements
On 16 April 2021, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the “Stock Exchange”) issued a consultation paper on the review of corporate governance code and relating listing rules (the “Consultation Paper”) and invited public comments on the proposals. Under the Consultation Paper, the Stock Exchange proposes changes in relation to (i) culture; (ii) directors’ independence; (iii) diversity; (iv) the nomination committee; and (v) communications with shareholders, and also in relation to other enhancements.
Back to top

过滤器
上一页

《香港银行及金融服务发牌简明指南》

2020-11-30

本所欣然宣布,本所刊发了《香港银行及金融服务发牌简明指南》,在本所网站供免费下载。此刊物旨在为有意在香港经营银行、金融服务、理财相关业务、信托及公司服务业务的人士,概述 有关发牌制度及要求。

请点击 '检视PDF' 下载此指南。


香港银行及金融服务发牌简明指南

律师团队

伍兆荣
伍兆荣
资深合伙人
何伟业
何伟业
合伙人
伍兆荣
伍兆荣
资深合伙人
何伟业
何伟业
合伙人

最新文章

金管局探讨与央行推出「南下」债券通的可行性
连结内地与香港债券市场的债券通计划,为海外投资者于增长迅速而庞大的中国债券市场投资提供更方便快捷的途径。债券通自2017年推出以来,一直获全球投资者广泛采用,加上近年人民币走势强劲,内地债券在不同经济体系的重要性日益增加。 随着「北上」的债券通取得佳绩,当局开始探讨准许内地投资者及发行人在香港债券市场交易。为进一步加强中港两地债券市场的联系,香港金融管理局(「金管局」)最近宣布,其正与中国人民银行(「央行」)研究债券通「南下」的计划,以使得内地投资者能够透过香港投资于环球债券市场。该计划将预期为香港金融服务业带来巨大商机,并巩固香港作为国际金融中心的地位。
中国首部个人破产法规的要点
中国于1986年颁布《企业破产法》。《企业破产法》属全国性法律,但只适用于企业清盘,并不涵盖自然人破产。中国首部个人破产法规《深圳经济特区个人破产条例》于2020年8月31日颁布,并已于2021年3月1日生效。当局在草拟该条例时,参考了多个市场经济发展较为成熟的司法管辖区的法律,例如英国、美国、德国、日本、香港及台湾。该条例旨在建立完整的现代化破产制度,让诚实而不幸的债务人能够从债务危机中解脱出来。
联交所建议修订企业管治规定
2021年4月16日,香港联合交易所有限公司(「联交所」)刊发了一份有关检讨《企业管治守则》及相关《上市规则》条文的咨询文件(「咨询文件」)并邀请公众就咨询文件内的建议提出意见。根据咨询文件,联交所建议就以下方面作出修订:(i) 企业文化;(ii) 董事会独立性;(iii) 董事会成员多元化;(iv) 提名委员会;及 (v) 与股东的沟通,以及其他优化措施。
Back to top