Medical Negligence – How Much Information Should Patients Be Given About the Risks of Treatment?

image_pdfimage_print

Introduction

There are two typical situations where a doctor might be held liable for negligence: the first is negligence in the performance of a medical procedure; and the second is failure to disclose the risk of a medical procedure to the patient for the purpose of getting consent.

In our previous article “Medical Negligence – Know the Duty a Medical Practitioner Owes to a Patient”, we have discussed the application of Bolam test in determining the standard of care required in the first aspect. For the second aspect, as a result of the UK Supreme Court decision in Montgomery v Lanarkshire Health Board [2015] UKSC 11, the traditional test laid down in Bolam v Friern Hospital Management Committee [1957] 1 WLR 582 (the “Bolam test”) is no longer applicable in UK.  In this article, we will explore the implications of Montgomery on the new standard for the duty of disclosure owed by doctors to their patients.

The Old Test (the “Bolam” Test)

According to the Bolam test, a doctor would not be found negligent if he had acted in accordance with a practice accepted as proper by a responsible body of medical practitioners.  Further, in Sidaway v Board of Governors of the Bethlem Royal Hospital and the Maudsley Hospital [1985] AC 871, it was decided that the Bolam test should be applied in deciding whether a doctor is negligent in relation to disclosure of information for the purpose of seeking consent from a patient.

The New UK approach – Montgomery (2015)

Brief Facts

In Montgomery, Mrs. Montgomery was a tiny woman with diabetes. Women who suffer from diabetes are likely to have larger babies. In particular, they have an increased risk of 9-10 per cent of shoulder dystocia, meaning that during virginal delivery the baby’s shoulders would be too wide to pass through the birth canal.  However, Mrs. Montgomery was not informed of the risk of shoulder dystocia.  Sadly during delivery, shoulder dystocia did occur and her baby was deprived of oxygen, resulting in severe brain injury.

Mrs. Montgomery brought a claim against Lanarkshire Health Board, alleging that she should have been advised of the risk of shoulder dystocia associated with vaginal delivery, and the alternative option of delivery by caesarean section ought to have been offered.

The UK Supreme Court’s Decision

Applying the Bolam test, the lower courts rejected Mrs. Montgomery’s claim.   Mrs. Montgomery appealed to the UK Supreme Court, which eventually ruled that Mrs. Montgomery should have been warned of the risk of shoulder dystocia and provided with the alternative of a caesarean section.

The Supreme Court adopted a more “patient-centered” test.  Instead of the idea of “doctors know the best”, leaving the medical profession to decide on what and how much should be disclosed to patients, the court acknowledged that a doctor has a duty to disclose to the patient any material risks involved in any recommended treatments, and any alternative treatments.  In deciding what amounts to “material risks”, the appropriate consideration is not only from the doctor’s perspective, but also whether a reasonable person in the patient’s position would be likely to attach significance to the risk.  As a result, the long-standing application of the Bolam test no longer applies in UK for cases that involve negligence in disclosure of risk.  However, the Bolam test will continue to apply in negligence cases of diagnosis, treatment and the other aspects of medical care.

Development in Hong Kong

In Hong Kong, following Sidaway, the Bolam test is applicable and therefore, only the views of the medical profession are considered in determining whether the medical practitioners are negligent in disclosure of risk.

In recent years, patients’ groups have advocated their demand for more thorough disclosure of information and proper communications between doctors and patients.  To better reflect the change of values of society, the Medical Council of Hong Kong had revised its Code of Professional Conduct (the “Code”).  In particular, section 2.10.2 of the Code has been amended to include the consideration of the individuality of each and every patient in the provision of medical service and communication between doctors and patients.

If the UK Supreme Court’s decision in Montgomery is followed in Hong Kong, the Bolam test will no longer apply in deciding whether the medical practitioners are negligent in disclosure of risk and consideration must be given from the perspective of the particular patient.

Conclusion

After Montgomery, the Bolam test has been replaced in UK in respect of the cases involving information disclosure and advice given by medical practitioners, in which the new test requires the consideration of the actual individual patient from the perspective of the patient apart from the doctor alone. Although there has been by far no judicial decision in Hong Kong applying the new test laid down in Montgomery, it is foreseeable that this “patient-oriented” test would be brought up to the court when cases of medical negligence in the provision of information for the purpose of seeking consent arise.

 

For enquiries, please contact our Insurance & Personal Injury Department:
E: insurance_pi@onc.hk                                                   T: (852) 2810 1212
W: www.onc.hk                                                                    F: (852) 2804 631119th Floor, Three Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong
Important: The law and procedure on this subject are very specialised and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.
Published by ONC Lawyers © 2016

医疗疏忽——医生应向病人披露多少治疗风险资料?

image_pdfimage_print

简介

医生通常在两种情况下须负上疏忽法律责任:第一是在施行医疗程序时疏忽;第二是在征求病人同意进行医疗程序时,未有向病人披露医疗程序的风险。

就上述第一种情况,我们在早前在〈医疗疏忽——认识医护人员对病人的责任〉一文中已探讨了如何采用Bolam测试确定须具备的谨慎责任的标准。至于第二种情况,由于英国最高法院在Montgomery v Lanarkshire Health Board [2015] UKSC 11一案中的裁决,Bolam v Friern Hospital Management Committee [1957] 1 WLR 582案中确立的传统测试(「Bolam测试」)在英国不再适用。在本文中,我们将探讨在Montgomery一案后医生对病人的披露责任新标准。

旧测试(Bolam测试)

根据Bolam测试,医生如已按照医护人员负责组织接纳为适当的做法行事,则不会被视为疏忽。此外,Sidaway v Board of Governors of the Bethlem Royal Hospital and the Maudsley Hospital [1985] AC 871一案裁定,Bolam测试适用于裁断医生在为征得病人同意而披露资料时是否有疏忽。

英国新测试方法——Montgomery (2015)

案情摘要

Montgomery案中,Montgomery太太(「原告人」)是一名身材娇小的糖尿病患者。患有糖尿病的孕妇有较大机会诞下体型较大的婴儿,而且发生肩难产的风险增加9-10%。肩难产是指在自然分娩时,婴儿的肩膀太宽,无法通过产道。但是,医生并没有向原告人解释肩难产的风险。她在分娩过程中不幸发生了肩难产,婴儿因缺氧导致脑部严重受损。

原告人向当地的医疗委员会提出申索,指医生应向她解释自然分娩时发生肩难产的风险,并提出剖腹分娩这种替代方法。

英国最高法院的裁决

下级法院采用Bolam测试,驳回了原告人的申索。原告人向英国最高法院上诉,最高法院最终裁断医生应向原告人解释肩难产的风险,并提出剖腹分娩这种替代方法。

最高法院采用了一种较为「以病人为本」的测试,摒弃了「医生最清楚」这种观念(即让医护业界决定应向病人披露甚么及披露多少),而是确认医生有责任向病人披露任何建议治疗方法所涉及的所有重大风险,以及所有替代治疗。在确定何谓「重大风险」时,适当的做法是不但从医生角度考虑,而且应考虑一名合理的人在病人的处境时是否相当可能会重视该风险。因此,沿用已久的Bolam测试在英国不再适用于涉及风险披露疏忽的案件,但继续适用于在诊断、治疗及其他医疗护理方面疏忽的案件。

香港的情况

香港跟随Sidaway案的裁决,采用Bolam测试作为适用的测试。因此,在确定医护人员披露风险是否有疏忽时,只会考虑医护业界的看法。

近年,病人组织要求医护人员更全面地披露资料,提倡医生与病人妥善沟通。为了更有效地反映社会价值观的转变,香港医务委员会修订了《专业守则》,特别是第2.10.2条,加入了医生应视乎每位病人的个别情况提供医疗服务及与病人沟通的要求。

假如香港跟随英国最高法院在Montgomery案中的裁决,Bolam测试将不再适用于裁断医护人员在披露风险时是否有疏忽,而必须从个别病人的角度考虑。

总结

Montgomery案之后,在英国涉及医护人员披露资料及提供意见的案件中,新的测试已取代了Bolam测试。新测试要求不单从医生的角度考虑,还应从病人的角度考虑病人的实际情况。虽然迄今为止香港未有案件采用Montgomery案所确立的新测试作出裁决,但可以预见,当出现在征求病人同意时疏忽提供资料的医疗疏忽案件,这个「以病人为本」的测试将会在法庭上提出。

 

如有查询,请联络我们的保险及人身伤亡部门:

E: insurance_pi@onc.hk                                                    T: (852) 2810 1212
W: www.onc.hk                                                                    F: (852) 2804 6311

香港中环康乐广场8号交易广场第三期19楼

注意:以上内容涉及十分专门和复杂的法律知识或法律程序。本篇文章仅是对有关题目的一般概述,只供参考,不能作为任何个别案件的法律意见。如需进一步的法律咨询或协助,请联络我们的律师。

ONC柯伍陈律师事务所发行 © 2016