How to Exclude Premarital Assets in Divorce Proceedings?

image_pdfimage_print

Given the property prices are constantly high in Hong Kong, not many young dating couples, or even newly-weds can afford purchasing a property for their own love nest. It has become this city’s phenomenon that parents would either allow their child and his/her partner to stay at one of the parents’ properties; or parents would “sponsor” them by paying downpayment of the couple’s new flat.

It is always tricky to determine the true beneficial ownership of premarital assets in divorce cases. In YKYM v YMCT [2013] HKEC 487, the Family Court had to determine whether the parties’ former matrimonial home in London was a joint wedding gift to the son and daughter-in-law from the mother, or such property was held on trust on her behalf. 

Background
The parties met in 1998 while studying in England, and thereafter started cohabiting in an apartment (the “Swiss Cottage Property”) owned by the Husband’s parents (the “Parents”). On 13 June 2006, a property in London was purchased in the sole name of the Husband (the “London Property”); the Husband’s mother (the “Mother”) paid the purchase price and all its related costs and expenses. The Husband proposed to the Wife shortly after purchasing the London Property and the two got married in December 2006. In September 2010, the parties decided to relocate back to Hong Kong and stayed in a flat owned by the Parents. 

Sadly, the parties started having martial problem and in November 2011, the Wife filed for divorce proceedings based on the Husband’s unreasonable behaviour; as there was no child of the marriage, the Wife sought general ancillary relief.

Issues
It was the Wife’s case that the London Property was the Mother’s wedding gift to the couples and the Husband who is holding her half share on trust for her. This is denied by the Husband who claims to have no beneficial interest in the property and he is merely holding it for his mother. The Mother denied the Wife’s case and joined the action as the Intervener.

It was not in dispute that the London Property was all paid for by the Mother. One of the factual issues before the court was to determine, at the time of purchase, was the London Property a wedding gift of the Mother for the parties?

Intention to Purchase

The Wife’s Case
The Wife had the onus to prove that the Mother intended to purchase the London Property as a wedding gift. She made such claim because:

1.         She dealt with the purchase and negotiated the terms of the agreement of the London Property. The Husband proposed to her shortly after the purchase.

2.         She agreed that she was not titled as the property’s legal owner because if the parties were later to purchase another flat, she could make use of the first time buyer benefit under the UK system. She also arranged renovation and furnished the property according to her own tastes and those expenses were bore by the parties.

3.         The Mother has been generously provided wedding gifts to the Husband’s two elder brothers and a sister; hence there is nothing unusual for the Mother to purchase a property for them as wedding gift.

The Mother’s / the Husband’s case
The Mother expressly denied that the London Property was a wedding gift for the parties. Her position was supported by her son. In her affirmation, she stated:

1.         The Parents purchased the Swiss Cottage Property in about 1990. Such purchase enabled the family to have a place to stay when they were in London. The Husband lived in the Swiss Cottage Property since 1995.

2.         In 2005, the Mother decided to purchase a property in London as her and her family’s accommodation when they visit.

3.         In April 2006, the Mother instructed her son to purchase the London Property on her behalf. At that time she did not know the parties were contemplating marriage. Even if she had known, she wouldn’t have purchased a property as their wedding gift as she had never purchase any property for any of her other children as wedding gift prior their marriage.

4.         The Mother kept her own key to the flat with her own bedroom to keep her clothes. She also paid for the Council Tax and management fees by wiring money to her son.

Judgment
When determining the factual issues, the court should only consider the intention of the parties at the time of the transaction. 

After hearing each party’s case, the court ruled in favour of the Mother because the intention to purchase the London Property was merely for her and her family use. As there was no wedding planned at the time of the purchase of the London Property, it would be impossible to consider the London Property as the parties’ wedding gift.

Conclusion
It is evident that each ruling will be different subject to the facts of each case.  To avoid any unnecessary presumption of interest in any premarital asset, parties (especially the true beneficial owner) have to be clear with the intention when providing other assets, or funds to close relatives for their use and think thoroughly whether or not they are meant as gifts.

 
IMPORTANT:
The law and procedure on this subject are very specialized and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.
 
For enquiries, please contact our Litigation & Dispute Resolution Department:
E: family@onc.hk
W: www.onc.hk
T: (852) 2810 1212
F: (852) 2804 6311
 

Published by ONC Lawyers © 2016

如何避免婚前资产纳入离婚程序?

image_pdfimage_print

香港的楼价持续高昂,有能力自置物业组织爱巢的年轻情侣或新婚夫妇并不多,因此近年出现一种现象,就是子女婚后与伴侣跟其中一方的父母同住,或者由父母「资助」子女置业的首期。

在离婚案件中,如何判断婚前资产的真正实益拥有人,往往是个棘手的问题。在YKYM v YMCT [2013] HKEC 487一案中,家事法庭就需要裁断双方在伦敦的婚姻居所究竟是母亲送给儿子和媳妇共同享有结婚礼物,还是只是交由他们以信托形式代她持有。

背景
双方于1998年在英国读书时结识,其后他们开始在男方父母拥有、位于伦敦瑞士小屋地区的公寓(「瑞士小屋物业」)同居。2006年6月13日,男方以其单独名义买下另一项位于伦敦的物业(「伦敦物业」),房价及所有相关费用和开支由男方的母亲(「母亲」)支付。买下伦敦物业后不久,男方便向女方求婚,两人于2006年12月结婚。2010年9月,两人决定迁回香港,并在男方父母拥有的一个单位居住。

可惜,双方的婚姻开始出现问题,于2011年11月,妻子以丈夫作出不合理行为为理由申请离婚。由于双方没有子女,妻子申索一般附属济助。

争论点
妻子认为,伦敦物业是母亲送给夫妇二人的结婚礼物,丈夫只是以信托形式代为持有妻子的一半。丈夫否认,他指自己在物业中并无实益权益,他只是代母亲持有该物业。母亲亦否认妻子的案情,并以介入人的身分加入诉讼。

对于伦敦物业是由母亲全数付款这一点,双方并无争议。法院须裁断的其中一项事实争论点是,在购买伦敦物业之时,伦敦物业是否母亲送给双方的结婚礼物?

购买物业的用意

妻子的案情
举证责任在于妻子,她需要证明母亲购买伦敦物业的用意是当作结婚礼物。妻子提出该项申索,因为:

1.         是她负责处理购买伦敦物业的事宜及商讨协议条款。购买伦敦物业后不久,丈夫便向她求婚。

2.         她同意不会成为物业的合法业主,因为假如双方日后购买另一项物业,她仍可享有英国制度下的首次买家优惠。她亦按照自己的喜好装修该物业,这些开支由双方承担。

3.         母亲过去亦曾慷慨地馈赠结婚礼物给丈夫的两个哥哥及一个姊妹,因此母亲购买物业给他们作为结婚礼物亦不足为奇。

母亲/丈夫的案情
母亲明确否认伦敦物业是送给双方的结婚礼物,而丈夫亦同意她的说法。母亲在其非宗教式誓词中表示:

1.         男方父母在1990年左右买下瑞士小屋物业,让家人在伦敦的时候有地方居住。丈夫自1995年起居住在瑞士小屋物业。

2.         2005年,母亲决定在伦敦购买一项物业,作为她和家人到访时的住所。

3.         2006年4月,母亲吩咐儿子代为购买伦敦物业。当时她并不知道双方打算结婚,即使知道,她也不会购买物业作为结婚礼物,因为她从未试过在其他子女结婚前购买物业给他们作为结婚礼物。

4.         母亲自己保管着单位的锁匙,并有拥自己的睡房放置自己的衣物。她亦向儿子汇款支付房屋税(Council Tax)和管理费。

裁决
就事实争论点作出裁断时,法院只应考虑各方在购买物业之时的意愿。

在听取各方的案情后,法院裁定母亲胜诉,因为购买伦敦物业的原意只是供母亲和家人使用。由于在购买伦敦物业之时,双方还未计划结婚,因此不可能把伦敦物业视为双方的结婚礼物。

总结
每宗案件的裁决显然都会视乎具体案情而有所不同。为避免就任何婚前资产的权益被加诸不必要的假设,在提供资产或资金给亲人使用时,必须非常清楚自己的意愿(尤其是真正实益拥有人),并想清楚是否欲将有关资产或资金馈赠给对方。

 
注意:
以上内容涉及十分专门和复杂的法律知识或法律程序。本篇文章仅是对有关题目的一般概述,只供参考,不能作为任何个别案件的法律意见。如需进一步的法律谘询或协助,请联络我们的律师。
 
如有查询,请联络我们的诉讼及调解争议部门:
E: family@onc.hk
W: www.onc.hk
T: (852) 2810 1212
F: (852) 2804 6311

 

柯伍陈律师事务所发行 © 2016