Damages for Personal Injuries

image_pdfimage_print

What is a personal injury?

Personal injury is a form of civil wrong caused when an individual failed to attend to another individual with reasonable care and often involving negligence. Personal injuries might often refer to physical injuries, but here it can be referred to psychiatric injuries as well. For example, in addition to physical injuries, a victim may suffer from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) as a result of a traffic accident.

The possible heads of claim a personal injury victim can recover vary. Some may suffer chronic injuries such as long-term pain while others may be forced to change their daily routines and jobs, or lose their jobs. The usual heads of claim include pain, suffering and loss of amenities, loss of earnings, loss of earning capacity, medical and other expenses incurred as a result of the accident.

A personal injury victim can recover damages under common law and if the injury is caused by accident arising out of and in the course of the employment, the victim can also recover employees’ compensation under the Employees’ Compensation Ordinance.

Common Law

Damages recoverable under common law would be computed under several categories. Damages for pain, suffering and loss of amenities would be assessed by reference to the seriousness of the injuries, the pain inflicted and the resulting loss to the injured person’s enjoyment of life. The Court would take into account the award made in previous cases in which the victim suffered from similar injuries and residual problems.  The Court would also take into account inflation over the years when making the award.

The victim is also entitled to recover loss of earnings incurred as a result of the accident before and after trial. For pre-trial loss of earnings, the Court would make a finding on the earnings of the victim at the time of accident, the earnings the victim could have earned but for the accident, the length of the sick leave period, the actual earning the victim could earn after the accident and then work out the amount of the loss.  If the victim continues to suffer loss of earnings after trial, for example he cannot return to his pre-accident job and has earned less after the accident, the victim will be entitled to recover post-trial loss of earnings.  The Court would take into account the retirement age of the job and the age of the victim to work out a multiplier for assessing the post-trial loss of earnings.  Finally, the injured person is also entitled to recover his medical and out-of-pocket expense, the interest on the above damages and his legal costs.

The Employees’ Compensation Ordinance

The Employees’ Compensation Ordinance lays the foundation of rights and obligations of employers and employees when injuries or death are caused by accidents arising out of and in the course of employment.  The usual employees’ compensation recoverable includes the compensation for permanent total or partial incapacity (which is usually referred to as permanent loss of earning capacity caused by the injury), the compensation for temporary incapacity (which is usually referred to as periodical payment) and the compensation for medical expenses.

The permanent loss of earning capacity caused by the injury is assessed by the Medical Assessment Board arranged by the Labour Department.  If a victim is not satisfied with the assessment made by the Medical Assessment Board, he should appeal against the assessment within 6 months from the date the assessment is made.  Otherwise, the assessment is legally binding on the victim.

The periodical payment is paid to the victim during the sick leave period and it is usually 4/5 of the monthly earnings of the victim.  The employer is only liable to make periodical payment up to 2 years after the accident (or for a further 1 year if leave is given by the Court).

The compensation for medical expenses is subject to a maximum of HK$200.00 for each day on which the medical treatment is given.  The maximum daily rate recoverable is HK$280.00 if the victim recovers medical treatment both as an in-patient in a hospital and other than as an in-patient in a hospital.

If a personal injury victim is entitled to claim both under the common law and under Employees’ Compensation Ordinance, it is usual that the victim will recover the employees’ compensation first.  When recovering the damages under the common law, the victim has to give credit for the employees’ compensation he has already received.

For enquiries, please contact our Insurance & Personal Injury Department:
E: insurance_pi@onc.hk                                                    T: (852) 2810 1212
W: www.onc.hk                                                                    F: (852) 2804 6311

19th Floor, Three Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong

Important: The law and procedure on this subject are very specialised and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.
Published by ONC Lawyers © 2017

人身伤亡的损害赔偿

image_pdfimage_print

甚么是人身伤亡?

人身伤亡是指一个人未有以合理的谨慎方式对待另一个人而造成的一种民事过失,往往涉及疏忽。人身伤亡有时指身体上的损伤,但这里也指心理上的伤害,例如,受害人可能因交通意外而患上创伤后压力症(PTSD)。

人身伤亡受害人可追讨的赔偿类别各有不同。有些人慢性受伤,例如患上长期痛症,而有些人则可能被迫改变日常生活或工作,甚至失去工作。常见的索偿类别包括疼痛、痛苦与丧失生活乐趣、收入损失、丧失赚取收入的能力、因意外而招致的医疗及其他开支。

人身伤亡的受害人可循普通法追讨赔偿,而假如是在受雇工作期间因工遭遇意外受伤,受害人亦可根据《雇员补偿条例》追讨雇员补偿。

普通法

循普通法追讨的损害赔偿是按不同类别计算的。疼痛、痛苦与丧失生活乐趣的损害赔偿会参照伤者的伤势、痛楚及生活质素受损的严重程度来评定。法院会考虑过往涉及类似受伤及后遗症的案例所判给的赔偿金额,亦会把通胀计算在内。

受害人亦有权追讨因意外导致在审讯前后的收入损失。对于审讯前的收入损失,法院会就受害人在意外之时的收入、如非该意外本应可赚取的收入、病假长短以及受害人在意外后实际可赚取的收入作出裁断,然后计算损失金额。假如受害人在审讯后仍有收入损失,例如无法重返意外前的工作,因而在意外后收入减少,则可追讨审讯后的收入损失。法院会考虑受害人任职工作的退休年龄及受害人的年龄,以计算一个评估审讯后收入损失的倍数。最后,受害人亦可追讨医疗开支、实付费用、上述损害赔偿的利息以及讼费。

《雇员补偿条例》

《雇员补偿条例》就受雇工作期间因工遭遇意外受伤或死亡的情况订立了劳资双方权责的基础。可追讨的雇员补偿一般包括:永久地完全或局部丧失工作能力(通常称为因受伤而永久丧失工作能力)的赔偿、暂时丧失工作能力的赔偿(通常称为按期付款或工伤病假钱)以及医疗费用。

「因受伤而永久丧失工作能力」是由劳工处安排医疗判伤委员会评估的。假如受害人不满意医疗判伤委员会的评估结果,则应自评估日期起计6个月内上诉,否则该评估结果便对受害人具法律约束力。

按期付款是在受害人病假期间向受害人支付的,通常是受害人每月收入的五分之四。雇主最多只须支付意外后2年的按期付款(但如法院许可,则另加1年)。

医疗费用赔偿的上限为接受治疗的每日港币200.00元。若受害人同时接受住院及非住院治疗,可追讨的医疗费用上限则为每日港币280.00元。

若一名人身伤亡的受害人同时可循普通法和《雇员补偿条例》索偿,一般会先追讨雇员补偿,然后在根据普通法索偿时,确认及减去已收到的雇员补偿。

如有查询,请联络我们的保险及人身伤亡部门:

E: insurance_pi@onc.hk                                                    T: (852) 2810 1212
W: www.onc.hk                                                                    F: (852) 2804 6311

香港中环康乐广场8号交易广场第三期19楼

注意:以上内容涉及十分专门和复杂的法律知识或法律程序。本篇文章仅是对有关题目的一般概述,只供参考,不能作为任何个别案件的法律意见。如需进一步的法律咨询或协助,请联络我们的律师。

ONC柯伍陈律师事务所发行 © 2017